Lenovo ThinkCentre M70S Gen 6 SFF Intel U5-225/ 16GB RAM/ 512GB SSD
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6, Core Ultra 5 225 / 16 GB / 512 GB (12U8CTO1WW-SC) - 3 Years Onsite, Singapore Local Warranty
An AI PC on Intel's Core Ultra Series 2
The Core Ultra 5 225 is 10 cores — six performance cores to 4.9 GHz and four efficient cores to 4.4 GHz — and it brings an integrated NPU. Lenovo's AI PC Category field for the M70s Gen 6 reads “AI PC” with Intel AI Boost up to 13 TOPS. That runs the on-device AI features in Windows, but it is below Microsoft's 40-TOPS bar, so this is an AI PC and not a Copilot+ PC — and Lenovo does not claim otherwise.
The One Build Here With a Documented Three-Year Onsite Term
The distributor build sheet for this part number records a warranty term — it reads “3 Years Onsite”. Because that number is documented, the heading keeps it. Onsite means an engineer attends the machine rather than you shipping it anywhere.
Please Read This Before You Order: Two Identifiers That Disagree
This part number is a configure-to-order identifier, not a finished-goods part, and two things about it do not line up. Lenovo's product database does not recognise 12U8CTO1WW-SC at all; the -SC suffix is not a Lenovo identifier. Strip it and 12U8CTO1WW does resolve — but it resolves to M70s Gen 5, whose processor list contains no Core Ultra parts whatsoever. Meanwhile every figure on the build sheet — Core Ultra 5 225, 4.9 GHz performance cores and 4.4 GHz efficient cores, DDR5-5600, a 260 W supply at 90% — matches Lenovo's M70s Gen 6 book precisely. Our reading is that the machine is a Gen 6 and the part-number prefix is stale, so this page publishes the Gen 6 platform. We will confirm the exact machine in writing before shipping.
What a Configure-to-Order Number Does and Does Not Tell You
Because this is a CTO bucket rather than a fixed part, Lenovo publishes no standard configuration for it. The build sheet below is the only per-unit source, and the platform table is Lenovo's for the machine the configuration matches. Anything neither states is marked not stated. If you are comparing this against a fixed part number elsewhere, that is the difference to keep in mind.
Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Product | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6 |
| Lenovo's Official Product Name | ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6 — the configuration on this build sheet matches Lenovo's M70s Gen 6 book exactly. The part number's own prefix does not. Read the identification note below before ordering |
| Part Number | 12U8CTO1WW-SC |
| Machine Type | See the note on identification below |
| Form Factor | SFF |
| Line | M-series — Lenovo's managed-fleet tier |
| Warranty | 3 years onsite, per the distributor build sheet |
| Local Warranty (Singapore) | Included with every SourceIT purchase, with GST invoice |
This Configuration — From the Distributor Build Sheet for 12U8CTO1WW-SC
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 5 225. The build sheet states efficient cores up to 4.40 GHz and performance cores up to 4.90 GHz, which matches Lenovo's M70s Gen 6 book exactly. Lenovo gives the part as 10 cores — 6 performance and 4 efficient |
| Graphics | The build sheet says integrated graphics without naming the engine. The previous page copy called it “Intel UHD Graphics”; Core Ultra Series 2 parts do not use the UHD branding, so this page does not repeat that name and Lenovo publishes none for this SKU |
| Memory Fitted | 16 GB DDR5-5600 UDIMM. The module count is not stated |
| Storage Fitted | 512 GB SSD, M.2 2280 PCIe Gen 4 TLC with Opal |
| Optical Drive | None fitted. Integrated Ethernet and an internal speaker are included |
| Wireless | Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211, 2x2, with vPro and Bluetooth 5.3 |
| Ports Noted on the Build Sheet | One USB-C, four front USB and four rear USB |
| Operating System | Windows 11 Pro, English. No recovery media supplied |
| Keyboard and Mouse | USB keyboard and mouse included. No DVD drive |
| Power Supply | 260 W at 90% efficiency, stated as a bare percentage on the build sheet. Note this is not an 80 PLUS tier |
| Chassis | Small form factor |
| Warranty on This Build | 3 Years Onsite, stated explicitly on the distributor build sheet |
Platform — From Lenovo PSREF, ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6
| Processor Options | Intel Core Ultra Series 2 desktop processors. The Core Ultra 5 225 is 10 cores (6 performance and 4 efficient), performance cores from 3.3 GHz to 4.9 GHz and efficient cores from 2.7 GHz to 4.4 GHz |
| Lenovo's AI PC Category | AI PC, with integrated Intel AI Boost rated up to 13 TOPS. Microsoft's Copilot+ tier requires 40 TOPS or more, so this machine is an AI PC but not a Copilot+ PC, and Lenovo does not claim it is |
| Memory | Four DDR5 UDIMM slots, dual-channel capable, up to 128 GB, at DDR5-4400, DDR5-4800 or DDR5-5600 |
| Power Supply | Internal fixed supply — 200 W at 90%, 260 W at 90%, or 310 W at 92%. Lenovo publishes bare efficiency percentages and no 80 PLUS tier |
| Form Factor and Size | SFF (8.2L) — 92.5 x 299.7 x 339.5 mm, 5.1 kg in its maximum configuration |
| Security | Discrete TPM 2.0, TCG and FIPS 140-2 certified |
| Base Warranty Options | Lenovo publishes 1-year courier or carry-in service, 1-year limited onsite service, 3-year limited onsite service, or no base warranty |
Compatibility & Fit
The identification problem, set out in full
This is the one listing in the group where we cannot give you a single clean answer, so here is everything we checked.
-
The part number as our store carries it is
12U8CTO1WW-SC. Lenovo's product database returns nothing for it. The-SCsuffix does not appear in any Lenovo identifier we can find -
Without the suffix,
12U8CTO1WWresolves in Lenovo's database to M70s Gen 5 Desktop (ThinkCentre), Type 12U8, and is flagged as a configure-to-order model rather than a finished part - But the M70s Gen 5 book contains no Core Ultra processors at all — it is a 13th and 14th Generation Core machine. A Core Ultra 5 225 cannot be built on it
- The M70s Gen 6 book does contain it, and matches the build sheet on every checkable figure: the Core Ultra 5 225 at 4.9 GHz performance and 4.4 GHz efficient cores, DDR5-5600, and a 260 W supply rated 90%
So the balance of evidence says this is a ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6 and the machine-type prefix in the part number is stale — which is a normal thing to happen with a CTO bucket that gets carried across a generation. We have published the Gen 6 platform on that basis and told you exactly why. If the distinction matters to your purchase, ask us and we will get written confirmation from the distributor before anything ships.
Our store title says Gen 6, and on this evidence the title is right. It is the part number that is confusing.
An AI PC, but not a Copilot+ PC
Lenovo's AI PC Category field for the M70s Gen 6 reads “AI PC”, with integrated Intel AI Boost rated up to 13 TOPS. Microsoft's Copilot+ tier requires 40 TOPS or more, so this machine does not qualify and Lenovo does not say it does. Thirteen TOPS is enough for the on-device AI features people actually use in Windows and in conferencing software; it is not enough for the Copilot+ badge. If Copilot+ is on your requirements list, tell us and we will point you at machines that meet it.
What to actually think about when buying a small-form-factor desktop
The processor is rarely what decides whether an SFF machine still suits you in three years. Three other things usually do, and all three are fixed at the point of order: how many memory slots the board has and how many are already occupied, whether there is a free drive bay or M.2 slot, and what will physically fit in a low-profile card slot. The tables below give Lenovo's full option list for the machine type and the distributor's build sheet for this exact unit, side by side, so you can see which of them you are getting.
How much memory can it take, and is a slot free?
Lenovo publishes four DDR5 UDIMM slots and a 128 GB ceiling for the M70s Gen 6. Whether the memory fitted to this unit occupies one slot or both is not published by Lenovo and not stated on the build sheet. It is the most-asked question about a business desktop, because it decides whether a memory upgrade is a cheap addition or a throw-away-and-replace job. Ask us and we will confirm the module configuration before you order.
A note on the power supply rating
Lenovo publishes a bare efficiency percentage for every ThinkCentre power supply — 85%, 89%, 90% or 92% — and does not assign an 80 PLUS Bronze, Silver or Gold tier to them. You will see 80 PLUS claims on resellers' ThinkCentre pages. They are not Lenovo's, so they are not on ours.
About the warranty, precisely
The distributor build sheet for this part number records “3 Years Onsite”, which is why the heading on this page carries the term. The build sheet for this part number states a warranty term.
Lenovo's book for the M70s Gen 6 publishes 1-year courier or carry-in service, 1-year limited onsite service and a 3-year limited onsite service option among its base terms, so a three-year onsite machine is a documented Lenovo configuration rather than something invented by a reseller. Onsite means an engineer attends the machine.
Every unit SourceIT sells carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice, and we will confirm the exact term, service level and start date in writing before you order.
Package Contents & ThinkCentre Ordering Information
In the box, per the distributor build sheet and Lenovo PSREF:
- Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6 desktop, built to the configuration above
- USB keyboard and mouse
- Internal speaker
- Power cable
- Quick start guide and safety documentation
Lenovo does not publish a carton contents list per part number. The list above reflects the build sheet for this unit, which is the only per-SKU source there is.
Lenovo ThinkCentre Desktop Ordering Information
| 12DN000ASG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4 — i5-13400 / 8GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR4 |
| 12DN000BSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR4 |
| 12DNS00Y00 | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 1TB — 8.2L SFF, DDR4 |
| 12HS000HSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 512GB — DDR5, four DIMM slots, Radeon RX 6400 option |
| 12U8005PSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 — i5-14400 / 8GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR5 |
| 12U8005QSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 — i7-14700 / 16GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR5 |
| 12U3001QSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 — i7-14700 / 16GB / 1TB — machine type 12U3 |
| 12V8000DSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s Gen 5 — i7-14700 / 16GB / 512GB — 128GB ceiling, PCIe 4.0 slots |
| 12U8CTO1WW-SC (this listing) | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6 — Core Ultra 5 225 / 16GB / 512GB — AI PC, and the only build here with a documented 3-year onsite term |
| 12JHS01900 | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50s Gen 4 — i5-13400 / 16GB / 512GB — 7.4L SFF, value tier |
| 11R8004WSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M75s Gen 2 — Ryzen 5 PRO 5650G / 8GB / 512GB — AMD, serial port, discrete Radeon options |
| 12E30011SG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 4 — i5-13400T / 8GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, no PCIe slot |
| 12E30012SG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 4 — i7-13700T / 16GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, no PCIe slot |
| 12EHS00600 | Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, PCIe 4.0 x8 slot |
| 12LN003GSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 4 — i5-13420H / 8GB / 256GB — 1L Tiny, value tier |
| 12LN003FSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 4 — i5-13420H / 16GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, value tier |
| 11JN008NSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M75q Gen 2 — Ryzen 5 PRO 5650GE / 8GB / 256GB — 1L Tiny, AMD |
| 12JY002USG | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 30a 24 Gen 4 — i5-13420H / 8GB / 512GB — 23.8-inch all-in-one, no VESA, no HDMI input |
Datasheet & Downloads
PSREF is Lenovo's own Product Specifications Reference. It publishes per machine type rather than per part number, so this SKU does not appear inside the PDF itself — the PDF is the authority on the chassis, the platform and the option lists, and the distributor build sheet is the authority on which options this unit actually carries.
Frequently Asked Questions — Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6
Is this a Gen 5 or a Gen 6 machine?
The evidence says Gen 6. Every figure on the build sheet — the Core Ultra 5 225, its 4.9 GHz and 4.4 GHz clocks, DDR5-5600 memory and a 260 W supply at 90% — matches Lenovo's M70s Gen 6 book exactly, and the Core Ultra 5 225 does not appear in the Gen 5 book at all. The part number's 12U8 prefix resolves to Gen 5 in Lenovo's database, which we read as a stale configure-to-order bucket carried across a generation. We will confirm in writing before shipping.
What does the -SC on the end of the part number mean?
Nothing that Lenovo publishes. Lenovo's database returns no record for 12U8CTO1WW-SC; strip the suffix and 12U8CTO1WW does resolve. The suffix appears to be a distributor or store annotation rather than part of Lenovo's identifier. Quote the full string to us and we will match it to a real orderable part.
Is this a Copilot+ PC?
No. Lenovo's AI PC Category for this machine type reads “AI PC”, with Intel AI Boost up to 13 TOPS. Copilot+ requires 40 TOPS or more. It is an AI PC; it is not a Copilot+ PC, and Lenovo does not claim it is.
Does it really come with three years onsite?
Yes, and this is the one machine in the group where we can show our working. The distributor build sheet states “3 Years Onsite” explicitly, and Lenovo's book for this machine type publishes a 3-year limited onsite option among its base terms. We will still confirm the term and its start date in writing before you order.
How much memory can it take?
Lenovo publishes the ceiling for the machine type in the platform table below. Whether the memory in this unit sits in one slot or two is not published by Lenovo and not stated on the build sheet — ask us and we will confirm before you order, because it decides whether an upgrade means adding a module or replacing one.
Is the power supply 80 PLUS certified?
No. Lenovo publishes a bare efficiency percentage for ThinkCentre power supplies and assigns no 80 PLUS tier to them. Any 80 PLUS Bronze or Gold claim you see on a ThinkCentre listing did not come from Lenovo.




