Lenovo ThinkCentre M70S G5 SFF i7-14700/16GB/512GB SSD
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5, Core i7-14700 / 16 GB / 512 GB (12U8005QSG) - Singapore Local Warranty
A 20-Core Business Desktop in an 8.2-Litre Box
The Core i7-14700 brings 20 cores and 28 threads to a chassis that is 92.5 mm wide. Eight performance cores reach 5.3 GHz and twelve efficient cores handle everything running in the background, with 33 MB of smart cache behind them. For spreadsheet models, large PDFs, dozens of browser tabs and a virtual machine or two at the same time, this is a great deal more machine than the footprint suggests.
What You Are Actually Getting, Not Just What the Range Offers
Lenovo publishes the processor, memory, storage, wireless card and warranty term as options for this machine type rather than as facts about any one part number. So this page carries a separate This Configuration table taken from the distributor's build sheet for 12U8005QSG: Core i7-14700, 16 GB DDR5-5600 UDIMM, a 512 GB M.2 PCIe SSD, an Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 card fitted, Windows 11 Pro and a USB keyboard and mouse. Anything neither source states is marked as not stated rather than estimated.
Two Things the Old Listing Claimed That Lenovo Does Not
This page corrects two errors that were live on it. The previous copy said the machine has “dual M.2 slots for storage upgrades” — Lenovo publishes two M.2 slots, but one of them carries the wireless card, so there is a single SSD position. It also said “includes PCIe slots for adding discrete graphics”; the slots are PCIe 3.0, they are low-profile, and the only discrete card Lenovo publishes for this machine type is the Intel Arc A310 LP. And the Wi-Fi card was described as optional when the build sheet records it as fitted.
Singapore Local Warranty, Without a Number We Cannot Support
The heading on this listing used to read three years. The build sheet for this part number states no warranty term at all, so the number has gone rather than be repeated. Lenovo does publish a 3-year limited onsite option for this machine type, so a three-year machine is orderable — ask us and we will quote it explicitly.
Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Product | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 |
| Lenovo's Official Product Name | ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 |
| Part Number | 12U8005QSG |
| Machine Type | 12U8 |
| Form Factor | SFF |
| Line | M-series — Lenovo's managed-fleet tier |
| Warranty | Not stated on the build sheet. See the warranty note below |
| Local Warranty (Singapore) | Included with every SourceIT purchase, with GST invoice |
This Configuration — From the Distributor Build Sheet for 12U8005QSG
| Processor | Intel Core i7-14700 with vPro — 20 cores (8 performance and 12 efficient), 28 threads, Max Turbo up to 5.4 GHz, performance cores 2.1 to 5.3 GHz, efficient cores 1.5 to 4.2 GHz, 33 MB cache |
| Graphics | The build sheet says only Integrated Intel UHD with no model number. Lenovo publishes UHD Graphics 710, 730 or 770 for this machine type depending on the processor, so this page does not name one |
| Memory Fitted | 16 GB UDIMM DDR5-5600. The module count is not stated |
| Storage Fitted | 512 GB M.2 2280 PCIe SSD |
| Optical Drive | None fitted. An internal speaker is included |
| Wireless | Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211, 802.11ax 2x2, with Bluetooth and vPro support. This is fitted, not optional, contrary to the previous listing copy |
| Operating System | Windows 11 Pro, English. No recovery media supplied |
| Keyboard and Mouse | USB keyboard and mouse included |
| Ports Noted on the Build Sheet | HDMI, DisplayPort and gigabit Ethernet |
| Power Supply | 260 W. Lenovo rates the 260 W unit for this machine type at 90% efficiency |
| Chassis | SFF, on the Intel Q670 chipset |
| Warranty on This Build | Not stated on the build sheet. See the warranty note below |
Chassis and Platform — From Lenovo PSREF
| Processor Options | 13th and 14th Generation Intel Core i3, i5 and i7 desktop processors, plus the Intel 300. The Core i7-14700 is 20 cores (8 performance and 12 efficient), 28 threads, performance cores 2.1 to 5.3 GHz and efficient cores 1.5 to 4.2 GHz, Max Turbo up to 5.4 GHz, 28 MB L2 and 33 MB smart cache |
| Chipset | Intel Q670 |
| Lenovo's AI PC Category | Lenovo publishes no AI PC Category field and no NPU or TOPS figure for this machine type. It is not an AI PC and not a Copilot+ PC |
| Memory | Two DDR5 UDIMM slots, dual-channel capable, up to 64 GB, at DDR5-4800, DDR5-5200 or DDR5-5600 |
| Storage | Up to three drives — one 3.5-inch HDD, one 2.5-inch HDD and one M.2 SSD. 3.5-inch HDD up to 2 TB; M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe at PCIe 4.0 x4, up to 2 TB. One M.2 slot takes the SSD, the other carries the wireless card |
| Discrete Graphics | Intel Arc A310 LP, 4 GB GDDR6, with two DisplayPort 2.0 outputs. This is the only discrete option Lenovo publishes for this machine type |
| Expansion Slots | One PCIe 3.0 x16 and one PCIe 3.0 x1, both low-profile, card length up to 155 mm and height up to 70 mm. Note these are PCIe 3.0, not 4.0 |
| Ports — Front | One USB-C at 5 Gbps with 15 W charging; four USB-A at 5 Gbps; headphone and microphone combo jack; microphone jack; optional card reader |
| Ports — Rear | Four USB-A at USB 2.0 speed; one HDMI 2.1 TMDS; one DisplayPort 1.4a; gigabit RJ-45. Optional serial and parallel via expansion |
| Networking | Gigabit Ethernet on an Intel Ethernet Connection I219-LM. Wireless options: Realtek Wi-Fi 6 RTL8852BE, Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX201, or Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 with vPro |
| Power Supply | Internal fixed supply — 180 W at 85%, 258 W at 90%, 260 W at 90%, or 310 W at 92%, all 100-240 V. Lenovo publishes bare efficiency percentages for ThinkCentre and no 80 PLUS tier |
| Form Factor and Size | SFF (8.2L) — 92.5 x 297.7 x 339.5 mm, around 5.3 kg |
| Security | Discrete TPM 2.0, TCG and FIPS 140-2 certified. Kensington Security Slot, 3 x 7 mm |
| Operating System Options | Windows 11 Pro, Home or Home Single Language; Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024; Windows 11 with downgrade rights to Windows 10 Pro 64; Ubuntu Linux; or no preload |
| Base Warranty Options | Lenovo publishes 1-year courier or carry-in service, 1-year limited onsite service, 3-year limited onsite service, or no base warranty |
| Certifications | ENERGY STAR 8.0; EPEAT Gold and EPEAT Silver Registered; TCO Certified generation 9; MIL-STD-810H military testing passed |
Compatibility & Fit
What to actually think about when buying a small-form-factor desktop
The processor is rarely what decides whether an SFF machine still suits you in three years. Three other things usually do, and all three are fixed at the point of order: how many memory slots the board has and how many are already occupied, whether there is a free drive bay or M.2 slot, and what will physically fit in a low-profile card slot. The tables below give Lenovo's full option list for the machine type and the distributor's build sheet for this exact unit, side by side, so you can see which of them you are getting.
How much memory can it take, and is a slot free?
Lenovo publishes two DDR5 UDIMM slots and a 64 GB ceiling for this machine type. Whether the memory fitted to this unit occupies one slot or both is not published by Lenovo and not stated on the build sheet. It is the most-asked question about a business desktop, because it decides whether a memory upgrade is a cheap addition or a throw-away-and-replace job. Ask us and we will confirm the module configuration before you order.
M-series against neo, in three lines
Lenovo runs two ThinkCentre tiers and the differences are consistent. The M-series carries an Intel Ethernet controller with vPro support, a discrete TPM, and a 3-year limited onsite base warranty option. The neo series carries a Realtek controller, and its books publish 1-year terms only. On the Tiny machines the neo also uses a firmware TPM integrated in the SoC rather than a discrete chip. None of that shows up in a processor comparison, and all of it matters to whoever has to manage the fleet.
A note on the power supply rating
Lenovo publishes a bare efficiency percentage for every ThinkCentre power supply — 85%, 89%, 90% or 92% — and does not assign an 80 PLUS Bronze, Silver or Gold tier to them. You will see 80 PLUS claims on resellers' ThinkCentre pages. They are not Lenovo's, so they are not on ours.
About the warranty, precisely
The distributor build sheet for this part number states no warranty term at all. The previous version of this listing carried a three-year heading anyway. We have taken the number off rather than repeat a figure nothing on file supports — a warranty term is the one specification a customer cannot verify for themselves after delivery, so it is the last place to guess.
What Lenovo publishes is a range of base options for this machine type: 1-year courier or carry-in, 1-year limited onsite and a 3-year limited onsite term. A three-year machine is therefore genuinely orderable — it is simply not what this build sheet records, so we will not print it as though it were.
Every unit SourceIT sells carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice, and we will confirm the exact term, service level and start date in writing before you order. If you need a specific term, say so when you ask for a quote — on this machine type it is chosen at the point of order and, on Lenovo's own note, cannot be added afterwards.
Package Contents & ThinkCentre Ordering Information
In the box, per the distributor build sheet and Lenovo PSREF:
- Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 desktop, built to the configuration above
- USB keyboard and mouse
- Internal speaker
- Power cable
- Quick start guide and safety documentation
Lenovo does not publish a carton contents list per part number. The list above reflects the build sheet for this unit, which is the only per-SKU source there is.
Lenovo ThinkCentre Desktop Ordering Information
| 12DN000ASG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4 — i5-13400 / 8GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR4 |
| 12DN000BSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR4 |
| 12DNS00Y00 | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 1TB — 8.2L SFF, DDR4 |
| 12HS000HSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 512GB — DDR5, four DIMM slots, Radeon RX 6400 option |
| 12U8005PSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 — i5-14400 / 8GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR5 |
| 12U8005QSG (this listing) | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 — i7-14700 / 16GB / 512GB — 8.2L SFF, DDR5 |
| 12U3001QSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5 — i7-14700 / 16GB / 1TB — machine type 12U3 |
| 12V8000DSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M90s Gen 5 — i7-14700 / 16GB / 512GB — 128GB ceiling, PCIe 4.0 slots |
| 12U8CTO1WW-SC | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 6 — Core Ultra 5 225 / 16GB / 512GB — AI PC, and the only build here with a documented 3-year onsite term |
| 12JHS01900 | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50s Gen 4 — i5-13400 / 16GB / 512GB — 7.4L SFF, value tier |
| 11R8004WSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M75s Gen 2 — Ryzen 5 PRO 5650G / 8GB / 512GB — AMD, serial port, discrete Radeon options |
| 12E30011SG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 4 — i5-13400T / 8GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, no PCIe slot |
| 12E30012SG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 4 — i7-13700T / 16GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, no PCIe slot |
| 12EHS00600 | Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 4 — i7-13700 / 16GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, PCIe 4.0 x8 slot |
| 12LN003GSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 4 — i5-13420H / 8GB / 256GB — 1L Tiny, value tier |
| 12LN003FSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 4 — i5-13420H / 16GB / 512GB — 1L Tiny, value tier |
| 11JN008NSG | Lenovo ThinkCentre M75q Gen 2 — Ryzen 5 PRO 5650GE / 8GB / 256GB — 1L Tiny, AMD |
| 12JY002USG | Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 30a 24 Gen 4 — i5-13420H / 8GB / 512GB — 23.8-inch all-in-one, no VESA, no HDMI input |
Datasheet & Downloads
PSREF is Lenovo's own Product Specifications Reference. It publishes per machine type rather than per part number, so this SKU does not appear inside the PDF itself — the PDF is the authority on the chassis, the platform and the option lists, and the distributor build sheet is the authority on which options this unit actually carries.
Frequently Asked Questions — Lenovo ThinkCentre M70s Gen 5
Can I add a second SSD?
Not without giving up the wireless card. Lenovo publishes two M.2 slots for this machine type, but one is designated for the WLAN card and one for the SSD. The machine does take an additional 3.5-inch and 2.5-inch drive, so a second drive is possible — just not a second M.2 SSD.
Can I put a graphics card in it?
Only a low-profile one, and only the card Lenovo publishes. The slots are PCIe 3.0 x16 and PCIe 3.0 x1, low-profile, with a 155 mm length and 70 mm height limit. The only discrete option Lenovo lists for this machine type is the Intel Arc A310 LP, 4 GB. This is not a machine to buy for a gaming or workstation card — for that, look at the ThinkStation range.
How much memory can it take?
Lenovo publishes the ceiling for the machine type in the platform table below. Whether the memory in this unit sits in one slot or two is not published by Lenovo and not stated on the build sheet — ask us and we will confirm before you order, because it decides whether an upgrade means adding a module or replacing one.
Is this an AI PC or a Copilot+ PC?
Neither. Lenovo publishes no AI PC Category field and no NPU or TOPS figure for this machine type — the 14th Generation Core parts it uses have no NPU. If an AI PC is what you need, the M70s Gen 6 in the ordering table is an AI PC at up to 13 TOPS, though still below Microsoft's 40-TOPS Copilot+ bar.
Is the power supply 80 PLUS certified?
No. Lenovo publishes a bare efficiency percentage for ThinkCentre power supplies and assigns no 80 PLUS tier to them. Any 80 PLUS Bronze or Gold claim you see on a ThinkCentre listing did not come from Lenovo.
What warranty does it come with?
The build sheet for this part number does not state one, so this page does not print a duration. Lenovo publishes 1-year courier or carry-in, 1-year limited onsite and 3-year limited onsite as base options for this machine type, so a three-year onsite machine is genuinely orderable — it is just not what this particular build records. Every unit SourceIT sells carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice, and we will confirm the exact term in writing before you order.




