Lenovo ThinkReality VRX Headset
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Lenovo ThinkReality VRX Headset, Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 1 / 12 GB / 128 GB (12DE0009SG) - Singapore Local Warranty
A standalone enterprise VR and mixed-reality headset
The ThinkReality VRX is a self-contained headset built on the Qualcomm Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 1 with 12 GB of memory and 128 GB of storage, running Android 12. It renders on the headset itself, so no PC is required, and it carries 2280 x 2280 pixels per eye behind pancake lenses with a 95 degree field of view. Two forward-facing cameras give full-colour passthrough, so the same device does both virtual reality and mixed reality.
What it is for, in Lenovo's own words
Lenovo positions the VRX as engineered exclusively for enterprise, and the published use cases are immersive training - customer service, sales, safety, machine assembly and repair, clinical procedures - along with design review and collaboration in shared 3D environments. It is not sold or supported as a consumer product. Deployment is managed through the ThinkReality platform or a third-party mobile device management system, which is what makes it practical to run a room full of them.
Please read this before you order: there is no app store
This is the single biggest expectation gap on an enterprise headset, so we would rather say it plainly than have it arrive as a surprise. Lenovo names no consumer app store for the VRX - there is no Meta Quest store, no SteamVR, no library of titles to browse. Content is built and deployed, not bought: developers target the OpenXR-based Snapdragon Spaces platform, or you license enterprise software from a partner, and the application is pushed to the headset through the management platform. A VRX taken out of the box and switched on is essentially empty. If you do not already have content or a content partner, talk to us first.
Bought and supported in Singapore
We supply, invoice and support this headset locally. Lenovo's published base warranty for the VRX is 1-year courier or carry-in service, which is a different and lesser entitlement than the onsite terms on Lenovo's workstations - the warranty section below explains what that means in practice. Ask us about the management-platform licensing before you order, since Lenovo does not publish whether it is included.
Lenovo ThinkReality VRX Headset Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Brand | Lenovo |
| Product name | ThinkReality VRX Headset |
| Machine types | 12DE and 12DF |
| Part number | 12DE0009SG |
| Regulatory model | C1610 |
| Product category | Standalone enterprise VR and mixed-reality headset |
| Warranty as configured | Singapore Local Warranty |
| Sold and supported by | SourceIT Pte Ltd, Singapore |
This Configuration — From the Distributor Build Sheet for 12DE0009SG
| Product on the build sheet | Lenovo ThinkReality VRX headset |
| Processor | Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 1 |
| Field of view | 95 degrees |
| Refresh rate | 70/90Hz as printed on the build sheet - Lenovo's PSREF sheet publishes 72Hz / 90Hz, see the note below |
| Memory | 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB |
| Display resolution | 2280 x 2280 per eye |
| Passthrough | 2-camera full colour HD pass-through |
| Tracking | 4-camera 6DoF optical tracking |
| Connection | Wi-Fi streaming or wired connection via USB-C streaming |
| Operating system | Android 12 |
| Battery | not stated on the build sheet - Lenovo publishes 6900 mAh, see the table below |
| Controllers | not stated on the build sheet - Lenovo's own box list includes left and right controllers |
| Software licensing | not stated on the build sheet |
| Warranty stated on build sheet | none - no warranty term appears in the build sheet for this part number |
Headset and Platform — From Lenovo PSREF
| Lenovo product name | Lenovo ThinkReality VRX Headset |
| Machine types | 12DE and 12DF |
| Lifecycle status | mixed signals, stated here rather than resolved. The VRX does NOT appear on Lenovo's PSREF withdrawn-products list, its PSREF specification sheet was still being maintained in August 2025 and Lenovo Support still publishes service parts for it. However, Lenovo's UK storefront no longer serves a product page for the European model 12DE0000GE, and Lenovo's Tech Today ThinkReality solutions page now lists only the ThinkReality A3. Lenovo has published no end-of-life notice either way |
| Display panel | Pancake lens LCD, 2.1-inch per eye, LTPS, 500 nits |
| Resolution | 2280 x 2280 per eye, 1512 ppi |
| Refresh rate | 72Hz / 90Hz per PSREF. Lenovo's own Tech Today datasheet prints 70/90Hz - the two Lenovo documents disagree and PSREF is preferred here |
| Field of view | 95 degrees |
| Processor | Qualcomm Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 1 |
| Memory and storage | 12 GB LPDDR5, 128 GB UFS 3.1 |
| Tracking | 6DoF inside-out, 4-camera optical tracking. Sensors: 2x pass-through camera and 4x infrared camera |
| Input methods | 6DoF controllers, hand tracking and headset buttons |
| Controllers | left and right hand controllers, optically tracked by the headset cameras, powered by 2x AA batteries |
| Passthrough | 2-camera full colour HD pass-through, 4 MP colour camera. No resolution beyond that is published |
| Battery | 6900 mAh, rear-mounted. Lenovo's UK page states 2-cell Li-Polymer 6930 mAh - the two Lenovo figures disagree slightly |
| Battery runtime | not published - Lenovo states no usage-hours figure in any document we could source. This is the most conspicuous gap for a device used in training sessions |
| Hot-swappable battery | not published - Lenovo nowhere describes the battery as hot-swappable or user-swappable, so no such claim is made here |
| Charging | USB-C. Around 2.5 hours to fully charge, with a recommended 45W adapter per PSREF. Lenovo's UK page lists a 90W adapter - the two disagree, so no wattage is claimed here |
| Weight | approximately 0.83 kg (1.83 lbs). Lenovo does not state whether this figure includes the battery, so it is quoted as published |
| IPD adjustment range | not published |
| Prescription lens support | not published |
| Ergonomics published | narrow and wide face pads both supplied, top strap, rear pad, and fully wipeable surfaces |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 6E, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax; Bluetooth 5.2 |
| Wired | USB-C 3.2 Gen 2 |
| PC connection | optional, not required. Lenovo publishes Wi-Fi streaming and wired USB-C streaming, plus NVIDIA CloudXR for cloud rendering. The headset renders standalone by default |
| Display output | no DisplayPort. Streaming is over USB-C or Wi-Fi, not a display link |
| Audio | integrated speakers, dual microphone, 3.5 mm headphone jack |
| Operating system | Android 12, with over-the-air updates |
| Management | the ThinkReality platform for deploying, configuring and managing devices at scale. Lenovo states it can also be supported by other leading mobile device management platforms |
| Management subscription | not published for the VRX - Lenovo publishes no statement of whether a platform subscription is included or sold separately. Lenovo does sell a ThinkReality cloud portal subscription as its own orderable item on other products, so assume it is separate and confirm with us |
| Application availability | Lenovo names no app store. Content is developed against the OpenXR-based Snapdragon Spaces platform or licensed from enterprise software partners, then deployed through the management platform |
| Base warranty published | 1-year courier or carry-in service |
| Premier Support | not published - Premier Support is not named for the VRX in any Lenovo source |
| Speaker count and driver detail | not published |
| Operating temperature and humidity | not published |
Compatibility & Fit
Why this page carries two specification tables
Lenovo publishes ThinkReality specifications per machine type, and the distributor build sheet on this listing is unusually thin - it states the processor, displays, tracking and operating system and nothing else. It says nothing about the battery, the controllers, the software platform or the warranty, all of which matter more than the panel resolution when you are deploying twenty of these. So this page keeps the two sources apart: the build sheet is reproduced as recorded, and Lenovo's PSREF specification sheet fills in what it omits. Where the two Lenovo documents disagree with each other - and on this product they do, on refresh rate, battery capacity and charger wattage - both readings are printed and PSREF is preferred.
Warranty, and why courier or carry-in is different
Lenovo's published base warranty for the ThinkReality VRX is 1-year courier or carry-in service. That is a materially different entitlement from the onsite terms on Lenovo's workstations: a failed unit goes back to a service point rather than an engineer coming to you, and the headset is out of the deployment while it travels. If the headsets are running scheduled training, plan for a spare rather than relying on the turnaround. Premier Support is not named by Lenovo for this product, and you may see three-year cover advertised elsewhere - Lenovo's published base term is one year, so anything longer has to be a separately purchased upgrade. Ask us and we will confirm what is on your quotation.
It is standalone - a PC is optional, not required
The VRX renders on its own silicon and runs its own Android operating system, so it does not need a host machine. Lenovo also publishes optional tethering: Wi-Fi streaming, wired USB-C streaming, and NVIDIA CloudXR for cloud rendering, all of which let a workstation or a cloud instance do the heavy rendering for engineering-grade models. If that is the plan, the rendering machine matters as much as the headset - we sell the ThinkStation range alongside and can quote both together.
What comes with it, and what does not
Lenovo's published box list includes the headset, both controllers, a USB-C to USB-A cable, two cable clips, a rear pad, a top strap, narrow and wide face pads, two lanyards, two AA batteries for the controllers, and the printed guides. There is no carry case and no mains power adapter in the box - the supplied cable is a data and charge cable only, while Lenovo's own documentation recommends a 45W adapter. For a fleet deployment, budget cases, chargers and spare face pads separately.
What Lenovo does not publish about this headset
Several gaps are worth knowing before a rollout. There is no published battery runtime - Lenovo states no usage-hours figure anywhere, which is awkward for planning session lengths. There is no published IPD adjustment range and no statement on prescription lens inserts, both of which decide whether a given group of people can wear it comfortably. Lenovo does not say whether the battery is hot-swappable, and it does not publish whether a management-platform subscription is included. This page states none of these rather than estimating them. If you are evaluating for a deployment, these are exactly the questions to put to us in writing and we will get answers from Lenovo.
Package Contents & ThinkReality Ordering Information
In the box, per Lenovo's published box-contents list:
- ThinkReality VRX headset
- Left hand controller and right hand controller
- USB-C 2.0 cable, Type-C to Type-A, 1 m
- 2x cable clips
- Rear pad and top strap
- Face pad (narrow) and face pad (wide)
- 2x lanyards
- 2x AA batteries for the controllers
- Quick start guide, warranty and safety guide
Lenovo's box list includes no carry case and no mains power adapter. The supplied cable is Type-C to Type-A for data and charging; Lenovo's documentation recommends a 45W adapter, which is not supplied. Cases, chargers, spare face pads and any management-platform licensing are separate line items - ask us to quote them with the headsets.
Lenovo ThinkReality Ordering Information
| 12DE0009SG (this listing) | Lenovo ThinkReality VRX Headset, Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 1, 12 GB, 128 GB, 2280 x 2280 per eye |
Datasheet & Downloads
- Lenovo PSREF specification sheet — ThinkReality VRX (PDF)
- Lenovo Tech Today datasheet — ThinkReality VRX (PDF)
- Lenovo Support — ThinkReality VRX overview and service parts
Lenovo's PSREF specification sheet is the maintained specification of record for this headset and is preferred on this page wherever it disagrees with the Tech Today datasheet. The support page confirms the machine types and lists the service parts Lenovo stocks.
Frequently Asked Questions — Lenovo ThinkReality VRX Headset
Do I need a PC to use it?
No. The VRX is a standalone headset - it has its own Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 1 processor, 12 GB of memory, 128 GB of storage and its own Android 12 operating system, and it renders everything on board. Tethering to a PC over USB-C or Wi-Fi is an option Lenovo publishes for heavier rendering, not a requirement.
Are the controllers included?
Yes. Lenovo's published box list includes both left and right hand controllers, along with two AA batteries for them. The controllers are tracked optically by the headset's own cameras, and hand tracking without controllers is also supported.
How long does the battery last?
Lenovo does not publish a runtime figure - not in the specification sheet, not in the datasheet, not on the product pages. We are not going to invent one. What Lenovo does publish is 6900 mAh, rear-mounted, and around 2.5 hours to charge fully. If session length is critical to your deployment, ask us and we will put the question to Lenovo.
Can I run Steam VR or Meta Quest apps on it?
No. Lenovo names no consumer app store for this headset. It is an enterprise device where applications are developed against the OpenXR-based Snapdragon Spaces platform or licensed from enterprise software partners, then deployed to the headsets through the ThinkReality platform or your own mobile device management system. Budget for content the same way you would budget for the hardware.
Does it do mixed reality or only VR?
Both. Two forward-facing cameras provide full-colour passthrough, so virtual content can be composited over the real room. Lenovo publishes a 4 MP colour passthrough camera and does not publish a passthrough resolution beyond that.
Is a software subscription included?
Lenovo does not publish an answer for the VRX. The ThinkReality management platform is what makes fleet deployment practical, and Lenovo sells a ThinkReality cloud portal subscription as a separate orderable item on other products - so the safe assumption is that it is licensed separately. Please ask us to confirm it in writing before you build a budget around it.
Will it fit everyone in the team?
Lenovo publishes narrow and wide face pads in the box and fully wipeable surfaces, which helps for shared use. It does not publish an IPD adjustment range or any statement about prescription lens inserts, so we cannot tell you whether it suits a particular person's eye spacing or glasses. For a large rollout, ask us about arranging a trial unit first.
Is Lenovo still selling it?
The signals are mixed and we would rather show them than pick one. The VRX is not on Lenovo's PSREF withdrawn-products list, its specification sheet was still maintained in August 2025, and Lenovo Support still publishes service parts for it. On the other hand Lenovo's UK storefront no longer serves a product page for the European model, and the Tech Today ThinkReality solutions page now lists only the A3. Lenovo has issued no end-of-life notice either way. We hold stock; ask us about lead times and long-term support before committing to a large deployment.





