APC NetShelter Metered Rack PDU
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
APC NetShelter Metered Rack PDU, 0U, 1 Phase, 3.7kW 230V 16A, (18) C13 & (2) C19, C20 Inlet (AP8858) - 2 Years Local Warranty
Twenty Outlets and Built-In Metering in a Half-Height 0U Strip
The APC NetShelter Metered Rack PDU AP8858 puts eighteen IEC C13 and two IEC C19 outlets on a 902 mm vertical strip - roughly half the length of a full-height PDU - and takes no rack units at all. At 2.93 kg it is light enough to mount single-handed, which matters when you are working in a live cabinet.
3.7 kW at 230 V Through an Ordinary C20 Inlet
Unlike the 32 A models in this range, the AP8858 is fed through an IEC C20 inlet rather than a commando cord, so it connects to a standard 16 A supply from a UPS or upstream PDU without any electrical work. It carries 3.7 kW at 230 V or 3.3 kW at 208 V, and accepts an unusually wide 100-240 V input range.
Metering and Alarm Thresholds Built In
The AP8858 measures real power, current and voltage at device, phase and breaker-bank level to ±3%, with user-defined alarm thresholds on the bank currents so you find out about an approaching overload before a breaker trips. Web, SNMP and Telnet access are standard, with EcoStruxure IT reporting and a one-year Secure NMC subscription included.
Environmental Monitoring for a Singapore Cabinet
A sensor port takes the AP9335T temperature probe or the AP9335TH temperature and humidity sensor, so the PDU reports rack inlet conditions as well as load. In a local server room or comms cabinet - where a stalled aircon unit and high ambient humidity are both realistic failure paths - having that telemetry come from inside the rack is worth the small extra spend.
APC AP8858 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Product Name | APC NetShelter Metered Rack PDU, 0U, 1PH, 3.3 kW 208 V 16 A or 3.7 kW 230 V 16 A, x18 C13 and x2 C19 outlets, C20 inlet |
| Part Number (SKU) | AP8858 |
| Product Type | Metered Rack Power Distribution Unit (PDU), 2G |
| Form Factor | Zero U (0U), vertical side mount |
| Phase | Single phase |
| Colour | Black |
| Warranty | 2-Year Manufacturer Warranty (APC by Schneider Electric) |
| Local Warranty | Local Warranty (Singapore) |
Input
| Input Connection | IEC 60320 C20 inlet - no cord is attached to this model |
| Nominal Input Voltage | 200 V, 208 V, 230 V |
| Acceptable Input Voltage Range | 100-240 V |
| Input Frequency | 50/60 Hz |
| Maximum Input Current | 20 A maximum, regulatory derated to 16 A |
| Maximum Load Capacity | 3.7 kW at 230 V; 3.3 kW at 208 V |
Output & Receptacles
| Output Receptacles | Eighteen (18) IEC 60320 C13 and two (2) IEC 60320 C19 - 20 outlets total |
| Circuit Breakers | Ultra low-profile circuit breakers with user-defined alarm thresholds |
Metering, Switching & Management
| Metering | Device, phase and breaker-bank level metering of active real power, current and voltage. Not metered per outlet |
| Metering Accuracy | ±3% (amps, volts, kW, kWh) |
| Outlet Switching | None - this is a Metered model, not a Switched one |
| Network Management | Built in as standard - no separate card required |
| Management Interfaces | Secure Web, SNMP, Telnet |
| Management Platform | EcoStruxure IT (formerly InfraStruxure). A one-year Secure Network Management Card subscription is included |
| Serial Configuration | Serial configuration cable supplied in the box |
| Environmental Sensors | AP9335T (temperature) or AP9335TH (temperature and humidity), sold separately |
| Surge Protection | Not provided - no surge suppression is specified for this product |
Physical & Environmental
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 902 x 56 x 44 mm |
| Net Weight | 2.93 kg |
| Shipping Weight | 4.2 kg |
| Operating Temperature | -5 to 60 °C |
| Operating Humidity | 5 to 95% |
| Operating Elevation | 0 to 3,048 m |
| Certifications | UL 60950-1, CSA C22.2 No. 60950, IEC 60950, METI Denan, VDE |
| EAN | 0731304277026 |
Compatibility & Load Planning
What you can plug into it. Eighteen IEC C13 outlets for C14-corded servers, switches and appliances, plus two IEC C19 outlets for 16 A C20-corded devices such as a blade chassis or a storage shelf. Twenty outlets covers a normally populated rack; if you need forty-two, that is the 32 A AP8853.
Load planning. 16 A after regulatory derating (20 A maximum), giving 3.7 kW at 230 V or 3.3 kW at 208 V. Twenty outlets sharing 16 A means the sockets are there for reach, not so each can draw its maximum. The metering - device, phase and bank level to ±3% - lets you watch the headroom, and user-defined alarm thresholds warn you before a breaker trips.
Rack fit. A 0U vertical strip 902 mm long, 56 mm wide and 44 mm deep, weighing 2.93 kg. At roughly half the length of a full-height strip it suits shorter enclosures and half-populated racks, and it consumes no rack units. For reference, the AP8853 is 1,791 mm and the Basic AP7552 is 1,619 mm.
Feeding it - note the inlet. This model has an IEC C20 inlet and no attached cord, which is the single biggest practical difference from the AP8853. You supply a 16 A C19-to-C20 cord from a UPS or upstream PDU. No commando socket and no electrical work required, which makes the AP8858 far easier to deploy in an ordinary Singapore SME server room. Schneider does not state whether a cord is supplied in the box, so assume you need to provide one and ask us to include it in your quote.
Management and sensors. Secure Web, SNMP and Telnet access built in, EcoStruxure IT reporting, a one-year Secure NMC subscription, and a serial configuration cable in the box. The environmental sensor port takes the AP9335T or the AP9335TH temperature and humidity sensor, sold separately.
What it does not do. No outlet switching - for remote power-cycling you want a Switched model such as the AP7921B. No per-outlet metering. And no surge protection - that is a UPS function, not a PDU one.
Package Contents & Metered and Switched Rack PDU Ordering Information
What's in the Box
- 1 x APC NetShelter Metered Rack PDU (AP8858)
- Rack mounting brackets
- Serial configuration cable
- Installation guide
- Safety guide
This model has a C20 inlet rather than an attached cord, and Schneider does not state whether an input cord is supplied. Assume you need a 16 A C19-to-C20 cord and ask us to quote one with the PDU.
Metered & Switched Rack PDU Range — Ordering Information
| Model | Type | Rating | Input | Outlets | Form Factor |
| AP7920B | Switched | 230 V, 10 A, 2.3 kW | IEC C14 inlet, 2.4 m cord supplied | (8) C13 | 1U |
| AP7921B | Switched | 230 V, 16 A, 3.7 kW | IEC C20 inlet, 2.4 m cord supplied | (8) C13 | 1U |
| AP8858 (this listing) | Metered | 230 V, 16 A, 3.7 kW | IEC C20 inlet, no cord supplied | (18) C13, (2) C19 | 0U |
| AP7822B | Metered | 230 V, 32 A, 7.4 kW | Captive IEC 60309 32 A cord | (12) C13, (4) C19 | 2U |
| AP8853 | Metered | 230 V, 32 A, 7.4 kW | Captive IEC 60309 32 A cord | (36) C13, (6) C19 | 0U |
Environmental Sensor (Sold Separately)
| Part Number | Description |
| AP9335TH | APC Temperature & Humidity Sensor |
APC also makes a temperature-only probe, the AP9335T, which this PDU's sensor port accepts. We do not hold it as a stock line - ask us and we will quote it.
Locking Output Cords (Sold Separately)
These are the cords that run from this unit's C13 outlets to your equipment's C14 inlets. The locking design stops a cord being nudged out of its outlet while you work in the rack - a common and entirely avoidable cause of an unplanned reboot. Note that this is an output cord kit, not this unit's supply cord - if you also need an input cord, tell us and we will quote the right type for this model.
| Part Number | Description |
| AP8704S-WW | APC Power Cord Kit (6 ea), Locking, C13 to C14, 1.2 m |
Datasheet & Downloads
Official Schneider Electric documentation for the APC AP8858. Links open in a new tab.
Frequently Asked Questions — APC AP8858
Two listings in our store share the title "APC NetShelter Metered Rack PDU" - which one is this?
This is AP8858, the 16 A model: 3.7 kW at 230 V, twenty outlets (18 C13 and 2 C19), a 902 mm strip with a C20 inlet and no attached cord, 2.93 kg. The other listing is AP8853, the 32 A model: 7.4 kW, forty-two outlets, a 1,791 mm strip with a captive IEC 60309 commando cord, 6.93 kg. Check the part number before you order.
Does an input cord come with it?
Schneider does not state one. The AP8858 has a C20 inlet rather than a captive cord, and no cord length appears in any published document for this part - so plan on providing a 16 A C19-to-C20 cord, and ask us to quote one alongside the PDU. We would rather tell you that than guess.
Is it metered per outlet?
No. Metering is at device, phase and breaker-bank level - active real power, current and voltage, to ±3%. Per-outlet measurement is a different product class. Bank-level metering with alarm thresholds is what you need to balance load and get warned before a breaker trips.
Do I need a network management card?
No. Secure Web, SNMP and Telnet access are built in, with EcoStruxure IT reporting and a one-year Secure Network Management Card subscription included. The AP9640 and AP9641 cards we sell are Smart-UPS accessories and are not used with this PDU.
Can I add environmental monitoring?
Yes - the sensor port takes the AP9335T temperature probe or the AP9335TH temperature and humidity sensor, sold separately. Worth adding in a Singapore cabinet, where both rack inlet temperature and humidity are real operational concerns.
Does it have surge protection?
No. No Schneider document for the AP8858 contains a surge section, joule rating or clamping figure. Surge suppression is a UPS function, not a PDU one.
How does it compare with the Basic AP7552?
The AP7552 is a Basic 0U strip - twenty-four outlets, 16 A, 3.68 kW, 1,619 mm long, and no metering, display or network port at all. The AP8858 has four fewer outlets and a shorter body but adds metering, an alarm-capable breaker, a network port and a sensor port. If you want to see and be warned about your rack load, the AP8858 is the one; if measurement already happens upstream, the AP7552 is cheaper.
Does it come with local Singapore warranty and a GST invoice?
Yes. Every APC NetShelter Metered Rack PDU AP8858 sold by SourceIT comes with local Singapore warranty and a GST invoice; APC backs the AP8858 with a 2-year manufacturer warranty.


