Video Conferencing & Meeting Rooms
Can One USB Video Bar Really Handle a 12-Person Meeting?
Usually not on its own. Most USB video bars are specified by their makers for huddle, small or medium rooms, with microphone pickup of about 4 to 7 metres, while a 12-person table puts the far seats near or beyond that distance. One bar can work for 12 people if the room is compact and you add the vendor's expansion microphones, but for a true 12-seat boardroom a bar designed for that room size, or a system with table or ceiling microphones, is the safer buy.
This post checks vendor room-size claims against the published microphone figures, works through the geometry of a 12-seat table and shows where expansion mics fit. For broader room mapping, see Yealink Video Conferencing System by Room Size. Our sibling posts ask whether AI cameras make meetings better and whether speaker tracking is distracting.
What do manufacturers actually claim for room size?
Very few USB bars give a headcount. Most use a room label and a microphone pickup distance, and the labels are not standardised between brands. The table below collects what each vendor publishes. SourceIT has not lab-tested these devices; the figures are the manufacturers' own.
| Video bar | Vendor room label | Built-in mic pickup | Expansion mics | Price (25 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yealink UVC40 E2 | Small and huddle rooms | 6 m (datasheet) | Optional wired or wireless | S$645.00 |
| Logitech MeetUp | Huddle rooms and smaller spaces | Up to 4 m | Expansion Mic extends to 5 m | S$921.38 |
| Logitech MeetUp 2 | Small meeting rooms | Up to 7 m | Not stated in datasheet | S$1,299.38 |
| HP Poly Studio R30 | Small rooms (HP quotes about 3.05 x 4.57 m for the R30 Plus bundle) | Up to 4.57 m | Not listed | Price on request |
| HP Poly Studio USB | Medium spaces | Up to 4.57 m | Optional expansion mic | Price on request |
| HP Poly Studio V52 | Medium-sized rooms | Up to 6.09 m | Optional expansion mic | Price on request |
| Jabra PanaCast 50 | Teams certified for rooms up to 4.5 x 6 m | Not stated | Not listed | S$1,575.00 |
Two points stand out. First, "small", "medium" and "huddle" mean different things to different brands, so compare distances, not labels. Second, Jabra's own page is not fully consistent: the main text gives Teams certification up to 4.5 x 6 m, while an FAQ answer says 4.5 x 4.5 m. Ask for the certification listing if room size is critical.
How far is the furthest seat in a 12-person room?
A useful reference point comes from Microsoft. For its IntelliFrame feature in Teams Rooms, Microsoft says the room supports a maximum of 12 people, who should sit at least a metre apart and less than 5 metres from the camera. That gives a realistic picture of what 12 people around one table looks like.
Take a rectangular table with five people down each side and one at the far end, spaced a metre apart. The table is roughly 5 metres long. With the bar on the front wall and the near end of the table a metre or so away, the far seats are about 6 metres from the bar, and the corner seats slightly further because they are off to the side. That is our arithmetic, not a vendor figure, but it shows the problem: a 12-person layout pushes the back of the table to the edge of a 6 m microphone and well beyond a 4 to 4.5 m one.
Distance is not the only issue. Voices from the far end arrive quieter and with more room reflection, which echo cancellation and noise suppression have to work harder to separate. Our post on why a S$50,000 meeting room can still sound terrible explains why hard surfaces and glass make this worse.
Does Microsoft Teams certification guarantee a room size?
It gives you a tested boundary rather than a guarantee. Microsoft's USB peripherals documentation states that all shared devices "are tested at certification against well-defined rooms sizes and noise environments", and notes that recommended distances may vary by manufacturer. Microsoft does not publish those room dimensions on that page, so you need the room size the vendor quotes for its certification.
Two cautions apply. Certification describes hardware design and performance; Microsoft says the programme does not assess feature-level or cloud support. And a certified room size is a ceiling, not a target: a bar certified for a medium room will behave better in a room smaller than that boundary than at its edge.
Can expansion microphones close the gap?
Often, yes, and they are the cheapest fix for a long table. The principle is simple: put a microphone near the people who are furthest from the bar.
- Logitech MeetUp: the Logitech Expansion Mic for MeetUp (S$322.31) extends pickup from 4 m to 5 m, according to Logitech. That helps a larger huddle room but does not turn MeetUp into a 12-seat system.
- Yealink UVC40 E2: Yealink lists optional wired or wireless expansion microphones. Our listing names the VCM36-W and VCM35; confirm the exact model for your firmware when ordering.
- HP Poly Studio USB: the Poly Studio USB and Studio X50 Expansion Microphone (Price on request) adds a table pickup point.
The camera still has limits. A 120° lens on the front wall sees a long table in perspective, so the far seats are small in the frame. AI framing helps by cropping in, but it cannot add pixels that the sensor did not capture.
When should you step up from a USB bar?
For a genuine 12-seat room used daily for hybrid meetings, look at products whose makers explicitly cover that size:
- Logitech Rally Bar Mini (Price on request): Logitech's mic pod placement guide says it suits rooms seating 3 to 12 people, with built-in microphones rated to 7 m and support for up to three Rally Mic Pods (S$570.38 each). Logitech gives each pod a 4.6 m diameter pickup area and suggests the first pod about 3.7 m from the bar.
- Yealink MeetingBar A40 (Price on request): the datasheet lists 6 m pickup, 4 m for high-quality pickup and support for two expansion microphones, in a Teams Rooms on Android or Zoom Rooms appliance.
- Logitech Rally Bar: rated by Logitech for rooms seating up to 20 people, with up to four mic pods.
These are room systems rather than BYOD bars, so the decision is also about whether you want a laptop in the loop. Our sibling post Why Does Your S$2,000 Video Bar Still Need a S$3,000 Laptop? covers that choice, and Yealink MeetingBar A10 vs A25 vs A40 vs A50 compares the Yealink tiers.
Size a meeting room by its furthest seat, not its headcount. If that seat sits beyond the microphone's rated distance, add a microphone before you add a camera.
What to do next: a 12-seat sizing checklist
- Measure the furthest seat. Tape-measure from the planned bar position to the back corners of the table.
- Compare it with the pickup figure. If the distance is within about a metre of the rated pickup, plan an expansion mic.
- Check the vendor's room boundary. Ask for the certified room size, not just the marketing label.
- Count daily headcount honestly. A room that seats 12 but usually hosts five can run on a USB bar with one expansion mic.
- Look at the surfaces. Glass walls and hard floors shorten the distance at which voices stay clear.
- Decide on BYOD or appliance. If the room hosts scheduled Teams or Zoom meetings every day, a room system usually earns its keep.
- Get the room checked. SourceIT can review a floor plan and seat count; use Request for Quotation on any product page.
Frequently asked questions
Can a USB video bar handle 12 people? Only in a compact room, ideally with expansion microphones. Most USB bars are specified for huddle, small or medium rooms, and the far seats of a 12-person table are often beyond their rated pickup.
What microphone pickup range do I need for 12 people? Measure from the bar to the furthest seat. With people a metre apart, a 12-person table can put the back seats around 6 metres away, so a 4 to 4.5 metre pickup will not reach without help.
Do expansion microphones solve the problem? They help a lot with audio for long tables, because they put a microphone near the far seats. They do not change the camera's view, so far-end faces can still look small.
Is Teams certification proof of room size? It means the device was tested against defined room sizes and noise environments. Check the room size the vendor quotes for its certification and treat it as an upper limit.
What should I buy for a true 12-seat boardroom? A system its maker rates for that size, such as the Logitech Rally Bar Mini for 3 to 12 seats with mic pods, or a room kit with table or ceiling microphones.
SourceIT Approved
Researched and verified by the SourceIT team for Singapore buyers.




