Lenovo ThinkBook 16 Gen 7 Intel U7-155U/ 8GB/ 512GB SSD
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML, Core Ultra 7 155U / 8 GB / 512 GB (21MS0087SB) - Singapore Local Warranty
A 16-inch Business Laptop Built Around Ports and Serviceability
An Intel Core Ultra 7 155U in an aluminium chassis with two DDR5 SODIMM slots, two M.2 slots, gigabit Ethernet, HDMI 2.1 and an SD card reader. MIL-STD-810H tested. The ThinkBook line's argument is that a business laptop should still be openable and still have the ports the office runs on, and this one keeps both.
What You Are Actually Getting, Not Just What the Range Offers
Lenovo publishes the panel, the camera, the wireless card, the battery and the Windows edition as options for this machine type rather than as facts about any one part number. So this page carries a separate This Configuration table taken from the distributor's build sheet for 21MS0087SB: 16-inch WUXGA 1920 x 1200 IPS, 300 nits, anti-glare, 45% NTSC, 60 Hz, non-touch, a FHD 1080p with privacy shutter, and Windows 11 Pro (no recovery media supplied). Everything we could not substantiate is marked as not stated rather than filled in.
Two Memory Slots, Two Drive Slots, No Soldered Memory
Unusually for a thin business laptop, none of the memory is soldered. Two DDR5 SODIMM slots take up to 64 GB, and there are two M.2 slots for storage. That matters three years from now, when the machine is still fast enough but the workload has grown — you upgrade it rather than replace it. What Lenovo does not publish is whether the 8 GB in this unit occupies one slot or two; ask us and we will confirm it.
Ports That Have Not Been Value-Engineered Away
Gigabit Ethernet, HDMI 2.1, an SD card reader, two USB-A ports and a 3.5 mm combo jack, alongside USB-C. Most laptops at this size dropped at least three of those years ago, and the replacement is a dongle somebody loses. For a machine that has to plug into a projector in a meeting room or a wired network in a server room, having them built in is worth more than a millimetre of thickness.
Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Product | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML |
| Part Number | 21MS0087SB |
| Machine Type | 21MS |
| Lenovo's Official Model Name | ThinkBook 16 G7 IML |
| Warranty | See the warranty note — Lenovo publishes no 3-year base term for any ThinkBook |
| Local Warranty (Singapore) | Included with every SourceIT purchase, with GST invoice |
This Configuration — From the Distributor Build Sheet for 21MS0087SB
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 7 155U |
| Memory Fitted | 8 GB (see the memory note below) |
| Storage Fitted | 512 GB SSD |
| Display Panel | 16-inch WUXGA 1920 x 1200 IPS, 300 nits, anti-glare, 45% NTSC, 60 Hz, non-touch |
| Camera | FHD 1080p with privacy shutter |
| Keyboard Backlight | Yes, backlit, English layout |
| Fingerprint Reader | Yes, match-on-chip, in the power button |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 6 (Intel AX203) with Bluetooth 5.2 |
| Battery | 60 Wh with Rapid Charge |
| Operating System | Windows 11 Pro (no recovery media supplied) |
| Warranty on This Build | No upgrade stated on the build sheet. Lenovo's PSREF book for this machine type publishes 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base warranty options. It publishes no 3-year base term. See the warranty note below |
Processor in This Unit
| Model | Intel Core Ultra 7 155U |
Display Panels Offered on This Machine Type
| Option 1 | 16-inch WUXGA 1920 x 1200 IPS, 300 nits, 45% NTSC, 60 Hz, non-touch |
| Option 2 | 16-inch WUXGA IPS multitouch, 300 nits, 45% NTSC, 60 Hz |
| Option 3 | 16-inch WUXGA IPS, 300 nits, 100% sRGB, 60 Hz, non-touch |
| Option 4 | 16-inch WQXGA 2560 x 1600 IPS, 350 nits, 100% sRGB, 120 Hz, non-touch |
| Which One Is in This Unit | 16-inch WUXGA 1920 x 1200 IPS, 300 nits, anti-glare, 45% NTSC, 60 Hz, non-touch |
Chassis and Platform — From Lenovo PSREF
| Screen Size | 16-inch |
| Processor Options for This Machine Type | Core Ultra 5 125H, Ultra 5 125U, Ultra 7 155H and Ultra 7 155U |
| Memory | Two DDR5 SODIMM slots, dual-channel capable, up to 64 GB DDR5-5600. No soldered memory |
| Storage | Two M.2 2280 slots, PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe, up to 2 TB each |
| Ports | 2 x USB-A 5 Gbps (one Always On); 1 x USB-C 10 Gbps with Power Delivery 3.0 and DisplayPort 1.4; 1 x Thunderbolt 4 / USB4 40 Gbps with Power Delivery 3.0 and DisplayPort 2.1; HDMI 2.1 to 4K 60 Hz; 3.5 mm combo audio; gigabit Ethernet RJ-45; SD card reader |
| Camera Options | HD 720p with shutter; FHD 1080p with shutter; or FHD 1080p with infrared for Windows Hello face sign-in, with shutter |
| Wireless Options | Wi-Fi 6 with Bluetooth 5.2, or Wi-Fi 6E with Bluetooth 5.3 |
| Battery Options | 45 Wh with Rapid Charge Pro (50% in 30 minutes), or 71 Wh with Rapid Charge (80% in one hour) — a larger top option than the 14-inch chassis takes |
| Power Adapter Options | 65 W USB-C, 65 W USB-C slim, or 100 W USB-C slim |
| Keyboard | 6-row, spill-resistant, multimedia function keys, 1.5 mm key travel, with a numeric keypad, and a Copilot key |
| Dimensions and Weight | 356 x 253.5 x 17.5 mm, starting at 1.7 kg |
| Security | Firmware TPM 2.0 in the SoC; camera privacy shutter; Kensington Nano Security Slot, 2.5 x 6 mm — note this is the Nano slot, so a standard Kensington lock will not fit. Lenovo publishes no smart-card reader for this machine type |
| Durability | MIL-STD-810H military testing passed |
| Operating System Options | Windows 11 Pro, Home or Home Single Language, or no preload |
| Base Warranty Options | Lenovo's PSREF book for this machine type publishes 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base warranty options. It publishes no 3-year base term. See the warranty note below |
| PSREF Book Revision | 1 December 2025 |
Compatibility & Fit
Why this page separates "the chassis" from "this unit"
Lenovo publishes its specification book per machine type, not per part number. That book is authoritative about the things that cannot vary — the ports, the number of memory and storage slots, the dimensions, the security slot, the drop testing. But it lists the panel, the camera, the keyboard backlight, the fingerprint reader, the wireless card, the battery, the power adapter, the Windows edition and the warranty term as options, because Lenovo builds the same machine many different ways. The per-part-number pages that would settle which options a given SKU carries render only inside a browser and cannot be read by any tool.
So rather than quietly presenting the option list as though it described this unit, this page shows you both: the chassis table is Lenovo's, and the This Configuration table is the distributor's own build sheet for this exact part number. Anything neither source states is marked as not stated. If one item decides your purchase — and on a laptop it usually does — ask us and we will confirm it in writing before you order.
The memory question nobody publishes an answer to
This machine has two DDR5 SODIMM slots and no soldered memory, which is genuinely good news — it means the memory is upgradable, which most thin 14-inch business laptops no longer are. Lenovo publishes a 64 GB ceiling for the machine type.
But here is what neither Lenovo nor the build sheet states: whether the 8 GB in this unit is fitted as one module with a slot free, or two modules with both slots occupied. That is the difference between a cheap upgrade later and having to throw away what you already paid for. It is the most-asked question we get on business laptops and we cannot answer it from any published document. Ask us and we will get the module configuration confirmed for your order before you commit — especially if you are buying a fleet you intend to upgrade in two years.
About the warranty, and why this page does not claim three years
Lenovo's PSREF book for this machine type publishes only 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base warranty options — there is no 3-year base term for any ThinkBook. Which of the two applies to this part number is configuration-dependent, and the distributor build sheet for this unit does not state a warranty upgrade either.
Other ThinkBooks in the ordering table below do carry a configured 3-year onsite upgrade, and their pages say so. This one we cannot substantiate, so we are not going to print it. What we can tell you is that every unit SourceIT sells carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice, and that we will confirm the exact Lenovo term and start date for this part number in writing before you order — and quote you an onsite upgrade if you want one, which is almost always cheaper bought at the time of purchase than added later.
A note on the model name
Lenovo's own name for this machine is ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — the three-letter suffix is not decoration. Lenovo builds several different machines under the same generation number, on different silicon with different ports and different panels, and the suffix is what separates them. When you compare quotes, compare the full name and the machine type (21MS), not just "ThinkBook 16 G7".
Package Contents & ThinkBook Ordering Information
In the box, per Lenovo PSREF:
- Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML laptop
- Power adapter
- Quick start guide and safety documentation
Lenovo does not publish a carton contents list per part number for the ThinkBook range; the adapter option for this machine type is 65 W USB-C, 65 W USB-C slim, or 100 W USB-C slim. The build sheet for this unit is reflected above. If a specific item is decisive, ask us and we will confirm it before you order.
Lenovo ThinkBook Ordering Information
| 21JC007FSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL — i5-1340P / 8GB / 512GB — Withdrawn by Lenovo |
| 21JC007GSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL — i7-1360P / 8GB / 512GB — Withdrawn by Lenovo |
| 21MR008USB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 8GB / 512GB — 14-inch, Core Ultra Series 1 |
| 21MR008SSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 IML — Ultra 7 155U / 8GB / 512GB — 14-inch, Core Ultra Series 1 |
| 21MRCTO1WW-BB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 8GB / 512GB (CTO) — Configure-to-order part — see note |
| 21MS0088SB | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 8GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MS008ASB | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 16GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MS0087SB (this listing) | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 7 155U / 8GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MS008BSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 7 155U / 16GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MV005TSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 ARP — Ryzen 5 7535HS / 16GB / 512GB — AMD, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21MV005SSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 ARP — Ryzen 7 7735HS / 16GB / 512GB — AMD, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SG0010SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IRL — Core 5 210H / 16GB / 512GB — Intel Core, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SG0011SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IRL — Core 7 240H / 16GB / 512GB — Intel Core, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SJ008JSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IAL — Ultra 5 225U / 16GB / 512GB — Core Ultra, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SJ008KSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IAL — Ultra 7 255H / 16GB / 512GB — Core Ultra, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21UX005SSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 IPL — Ultra 5 332 / 16GB / 512GB — Copilot+ PC. In stock |
| 21UX0060SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 IPL — Ultra 7 355 / 16GB / 512GB — Copilot+ PC. In stock |
| 21V0009WSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 AHP — Ryzen 5 220 / 16GB / 512GB — AMD. In stock |
| 21V0009XSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 AHP — Ryzen 7 250 / 16GB / 512GB — AMD, 8-core with NPU. In stock |
| 21UR0068SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G9 IPL — Ultra 7 355 / 16GB / 512GB — Copilot+ PC, 16-inch. In stock |
Datasheet & Downloads
PSREF is Lenovo's own Product Specifications Reference. It publishes per machine type rather than per part number, so this SKU does not appear inside the PDF itself — the PDF is the authority on the chassis, the ports and the option menu, and the distributor build sheet is the authority on which options this unit carries. Both are reflected above.
Frequently Asked Questions — Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML
Which display does this exact unit have?
16-inch WUXGA 1920 x 1200 IPS, 300 nits, anti-glare, 45% NTSC, 60 Hz, non-touch, per the distributor build sheet. That matters because Lenovo offers 4 different panels on this machine type, listed in full above, and they are not equivalent — the top option is a WQXGA 2560 x 1600 120 Hz 100% sRGB screen and the base one is a 60 Hz 45% NTSC WUXGA panel. If the panel decides your purchase, ask us and we will confirm it in writing before you order.
Is the memory upgradable, and is a slot free?
Yes, fully — there is no soldered memory. Two DDR5 SODIMM slots take up to 64 GB between them. Whether the 8 GB in this unit is one module with a slot free, or two modules with both slots full, is not published by Lenovo or stated on the build sheet. It is the most-asked question we get and we would rather tell you we do not know than guess. Ask us and we will confirm the module configuration for your order — particularly worth doing if you are buying a fleet you plan to upgrade later.
Does it have Windows Hello face sign-in?
That depends on whether the unit has the infrared camera, which is one of Lenovo's configuration options. The build sheet for this part number states: FHD 1080p with privacy shutter. That is not an infrared camera, so face sign-in is not available on this build — the fingerprint reader is the biometric option. Lenovo does offer an infrared camera on this machine type; ask us if you need it and we will see whether a build with it can be sourced.
What warranty does it come with?
Lenovo publishes 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base options for this machine type, and no 3-year base term exists for any ThinkBook. The build sheet for this part number does not state a warranty upgrade, so we are not claiming one. Every unit SourceIT sells carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice, and we will confirm the exact Lenovo term and start date for this part number before you order — and quote an onsite upgrade if you want one, which is cheaper bought now than added later.
Is this a Copilot+ PC?
No. Lenovo classes this machine type as an "AI PC" rather than a "Copilot+ PC". The difference is a real hardware bar: Copilot+ requires an NPU running 40 or more TOPS, and Lenovo does not publish an NPU rating for this machine type. The Intel Core Ultra ThinkBooks in the ordering table above are the ones Lenovo designates Copilot+, and we will happily quote one if that badge is a requirement.
What lock fits it?
A Kensington Nano lock, and only a Nano. The slot is 2.5 x 6 mm — a standard Kensington lock and a MicroSaver 2.0 lock will not fit it. This catches people out when they buy locks for a mixed fleet. We stock Lenovo's NanoSaver locks, including a twin-head model for offices running both slot types; ask us and we will match the lock to the machines you actually have.
How do I know I am comparing the right machine?
By the machine type, which for this one is 21MS, and by Lenovo's full model name, ThinkBook 16 G7 IML. Lenovo sells several different laptops under the same generation number on different silicon — the three-letter suffix is what tells them apart. A quote that says only "ThinkBook G7" is ambiguous, and the machines it could mean differ in ports, panels and price.





