Lenovo ThinkBook 14 Gen 5 i5-1340P/8GB/512GB SSD
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL, Core i5-1340P / 8 GB / 512 GB (21JC007FSB) - Singapore Local Warranty
Before You Read On: Lenovo Has Moved On From This Model
This is not Lenovo's current ThinkBook, and we are not holding stock of it. The direct replacements are 21MR008USB. 21MR008SSB. Everything below stays accurate for the machine as Lenovo built it, so you can compare generations honestly — but if you are buying today, buy current. The ThinkBooks we actually have on the shelf are the G9 models, which are in the ordering table below with their stock position. If you need this exact part number to match an existing fleet build, ask us and we will check availability through Lenovo rather than guess at it.
A 14-Inch Business Laptop From Lenovo's Value Line
The ThinkBook line sits between Lenovo's consumer machines and the ThinkPads: an aluminium chassis, a full port complement including gigabit Ethernet, HDMI 2.1, Thunderbolt 4 and an SD card reader, and MIL-STD-810H drop and environmental testing, at a price a small business can actually sign off. This one runs an Intel Core i5-1340P.
What You Are Actually Getting, Not Just What the Range Offers
Lenovo publishes the panel, the camera, the wireless card, the battery and the Windows edition as options for this machine type rather than as facts about any one part number. So this page carries a separate This Configuration table taken from the distributor's build sheet for 21JC007FSB: the panel as built, a camera as built, and the operating system as built. Everything we could not substantiate is marked as not stated rather than filled in.
The Memory Ceiling Is the Specification to Weigh
This generation pairs a soldered module with a single DDR4 SODIMM slot and tops out at 16 GB total. Every later ThinkBook in the ordering table has two DDR5 slots, no soldered memory and a 64 GB ceiling. On a machine you intend to keep, that ceiling is more likely to end its useful life than the processor is.
Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Product | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL |
| Part Number | 21JC007FSB |
| Machine Type | 21JC |
| Lenovo's Official Model Name | ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL |
| Warranty | See the warranty note — Lenovo publishes no 3-year base term for any ThinkBook |
| Local Warranty (Singapore) | Included with every SourceIT purchase, with GST invoice |
This Configuration — From the Distributor Build Sheet for 21JC007FSB
| Processor | Intel Core i5-1340P |
| Memory Fitted | 8 GB (see the memory note below) |
| Storage Fitted | 512 GB SSD |
| Warranty on This Build | No upgrade stated on the build sheet. Lenovo's PSREF book for this machine type publishes 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base warranty options. It publishes no 3-year base term. See the warranty note below |
Processor in This Unit
| Model | Intel Core i5-1340P |
Display Panels Offered on This Machine Type
| Option 1 | 14-inch FHD 1920 x 1080 TN, 250 nits, 45% NTSC, non-touch |
| Option 2 | 14-inch FHD IPS, 300 nits, 45% NTSC, non-touch, TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light |
| Option 3 | 14-inch FHD IPS multitouch, 300 nits, 45% NTSC, 10-point |
| Option 4 | 14-inch FHD IPS, 300 nits, 100% sRGB, non-touch |
| Note | This is the 16:9 FHD panel generation. Later ThinkBooks moved to a 16:10 WUXGA panel, which shows meaningfully more of a document. Lenovo publishes no refresh rate for any of these panels. |
| Which One Is in This Unit | Not stated on the build sheet. Ask us and we will confirm it with Lenovo |
Chassis and Platform — From Lenovo PSREF
| Screen Size | 14-inch |
| Processor Options for This Machine Type | Core i3-1315U, i5-1335U, i5-1340P, i7-1355U and i7-1360P |
| Memory | One module soldered to the systemboard plus one DDR4 SODIMM slot, dual-channel capable. Maximum 16 GB total (8 GB soldered plus 8 GB in the slot), DDR4-3200. This is a real ceiling — later ThinkBooks take 64 GB |
| Storage | Two M.2 2280 slots, PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe |
| Ports | 1 x USB-A 3.2 Gen 1; 1 x USB-A 3.2 Gen 1 Always On; 1 x USB-C 3.2 Gen 2; 1 x Thunderbolt 4 / USB4 40 Gbps; HDMI 2.1; 3.5 mm combo audio; gigabit Ethernet RJ-45; SD card reader |
| Camera Options | FHD 1080p with privacy shutter, or HD 720p with privacy shutter — both fixed focus. Lenovo publishes no infrared option on this machine type, so Windows Hello face sign-in is not available on it |
| Wireless Options | Wi-Fi 6 with Bluetooth 5.2, or Wi-Fi 6E with Bluetooth 5.3 |
| Battery Options | 45 Wh with Rapid Charge Pro (50% in 30 minutes), or 60 Wh with Rapid Charge (80% in one hour) |
| Power Adapter Options | 65 W USB-C 3-pin, or 65 W USB-C slim wall-mount |
| Keyboard | 6-row, spill-resistant, multimedia function keys, 1.5 mm key travel |
| Dimensions and Weight | 323 x 218 x 17.9 mm, starting at 1.4 kg |
| Security | Firmware TPM 2.0 in the SoC; camera privacy shutter; Kensington Nano Security Slot, 2.5 x 6 mm — note this is the Nano slot, so a standard Kensington lock will not fit. Lenovo publishes no smart-card reader for this machine type |
| Durability | MIL-STD-810H military testing passed |
| Operating System Options | Windows 11 Pro, Home or Home Single Language; a Windows 11 downgrade to Windows 10 Pro; or no preload |
| Base Warranty Options | Lenovo's PSREF book for this machine type publishes 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base warranty options. It publishes no 3-year base term. See the warranty note below |
| PSREF Book Revision | 1 February 2024 |
Compatibility & Fit
Lenovo has withdrawn this model
Lenovo's PSREF marks this machine type as withdrawn, and its specification book has not been revised since February 2024 while every other ThinkBook book on our shelf carries a 2025 or 2026 date. It is also the only ThinkBook still listing a Windows 10 downgrade option, which dates it.
Withdrawn does not mean unsupported — Lenovo continues to honour warranties and publish drivers. It does mean no new production, so availability is whatever remains in the channel. The page below stays accurate for the machine as Lenovo built it. If you need this exact part number to match an existing fleet, ask us and we will check the channel; if you are buying new, buy from the ordering table.
Why this page separates "the chassis" from "this unit"
Lenovo publishes its specification book per machine type, not per part number. That book is authoritative about the things that cannot vary — the ports, the number of memory and storage slots, the dimensions, the security slot, the drop testing. But it lists the panel, the camera, the keyboard backlight, the fingerprint reader, the wireless card, the battery, the power adapter, the Windows edition and the warranty term as options, because Lenovo builds the same machine many different ways. The per-part-number pages that would settle which options a given SKU carries render only inside a browser and cannot be read by any tool.
So rather than quietly presenting the option list as though it described this unit, this page shows you both: the chassis table is Lenovo's, and the This Configuration table is the distributor's own build sheet for this exact part number. Anything neither source states is marked as not stated. If one item decides your purchase — and on a laptop it usually does — ask us and we will confirm it in writing before you order.
A memory ceiling worth knowing about
This generation is the one exception in the ThinkBook range: it has one memory module soldered to the systemboard plus a single DDR4 SODIMM slot, and Lenovo publishes a maximum of 16 GB in total. Every later ThinkBook in the ordering table has two SODIMM slots, no soldered memory and a 64 GB ceiling.
If this machine will be kept for several years and you expect its workload to grow, that ceiling is the specification most likely to end its useful life — not the processor. Worth weighing against the newer machines before you decide.
About the warranty, and why this page does not claim three years
Lenovo's PSREF book for this machine type publishes only 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base warranty options — there is no 3-year base term for any ThinkBook. Which of the two applies to this part number is configuration-dependent, and the distributor build sheet for this unit does not state a warranty upgrade either.
Other ThinkBooks in the ordering table below do carry a configured 3-year onsite upgrade, and their pages say so. This one we cannot substantiate, so we are not going to print it. What we can tell you is that every unit SourceIT sells carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice, and that we will confirm the exact Lenovo term and start date for this part number in writing before you order — and quote you an onsite upgrade if you want one, which is almost always cheaper bought at the time of purchase than added later.
A note on the model name
Lenovo's own name for this machine is ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL — the three-letter suffix is not decoration. Lenovo builds several different machines under the same generation number, on different silicon with different ports and different panels, and the suffix is what separates them. When you compare quotes, compare the full name and the machine type (21JC), not just "ThinkBook 14 G5".
Package Contents & ThinkBook Ordering Information
In the box, per Lenovo PSREF:
- Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL laptop
- Power adapter
- Quick start guide and safety documentation
Lenovo does not publish a carton contents list per part number for the ThinkBook range; the adapter option for this machine type is 65 W USB-C 3-pin, or 65 W USB-C slim wall-mount. The build sheet for this unit is reflected above. If a specific item is decisive, ask us and we will confirm it before you order.
Lenovo ThinkBook Ordering Information
| 21JC007FSB (this listing) | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL — i5-1340P / 8GB / 512GB — Withdrawn by Lenovo |
| 21JC007GSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL — i7-1360P / 8GB / 512GB — Withdrawn by Lenovo |
| 21MR008USB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 8GB / 512GB — 14-inch, Core Ultra Series 1 |
| 21MR008SSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 IML — Ultra 7 155U / 8GB / 512GB — 14-inch, Core Ultra Series 1 |
| 21MRCTO1WW-BB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 8GB / 512GB (CTO) — Configure-to-order part — see note |
| 21MS0088SB | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 8GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MS008ASB | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 5 125U / 16GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MS0087SB | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 7 155U / 8GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MS008BSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G7 IML — Ultra 7 155U / 16GB / 512GB — 16-inch with numeric keypad |
| 21MV005TSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 ARP — Ryzen 5 7535HS / 16GB / 512GB — AMD, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21MV005SSB | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G7 ARP — Ryzen 7 7735HS / 16GB / 512GB — AMD, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SG0010SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IRL — Core 5 210H / 16GB / 512GB — Intel Core, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SG0011SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IRL — Core 7 240H / 16GB / 512GB — Intel Core, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SJ008JSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IAL — Ultra 5 225U / 16GB / 512GB — Core Ultra, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21SJ008KSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G8 IAL — Ultra 7 255H / 16GB / 512GB — Core Ultra, 3-year onsite + backpack |
| 21UX005SSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 IPL — Ultra 5 332 / 16GB / 512GB — Copilot+ PC. In stock |
| 21UX0060SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 IPL — Ultra 7 355 / 16GB / 512GB — Copilot+ PC. In stock |
| 21V0009WSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 AHP — Ryzen 5 220 / 16GB / 512GB — AMD. In stock |
| 21V0009XSG | Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G9 AHP — Ryzen 7 250 / 16GB / 512GB — AMD, 8-core with NPU. In stock |
| 21UR0068SG | Lenovo ThinkBook 16 G9 IPL — Ultra 7 355 / 16GB / 512GB — Copilot+ PC, 16-inch. In stock |
Datasheet & Downloads
PSREF is Lenovo's own Product Specifications Reference. It publishes per machine type rather than per part number, so this SKU does not appear inside the PDF itself — the PDF is the authority on the chassis, the ports and the option menu, and the distributor build sheet is the authority on which options this unit carries. Both are reflected above.
Frequently Asked Questions — Lenovo ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL
Which display does this exact unit have?
The build sheet does not state it, per the distributor build sheet. That matters because Lenovo offers 4 different panels on this machine type, listed in full above, and they are not equivalent — brightness, colour gamut and touch all vary between them. If the panel decides your purchase, ask us and we will confirm it in writing before you order.
Is the memory upgradable, and is a slot free?
Partly, and this is the one ThinkBook where that is a real limitation. This generation has one module soldered to the board plus a single DDR4 SODIMM slot, and Lenovo publishes a 16 GB total ceiling. The later ThinkBooks in the ordering table have two DDR5 slots, no soldered memory and take 64 GB.
Does it have Windows Hello face sign-in?
That depends on whether the unit has the infrared camera, which is one of Lenovo's configuration options. The build sheet for this part number states: Not stated on the build sheet. Ask us and we will confirm it with Lenovo. That is not an infrared camera, so face sign-in is not available on this build — the fingerprint reader is the biometric option. Lenovo does offer an infrared camera on this machine type; ask us if you need it and we will see whether a build with it can be sourced.
What warranty does it come with?
Lenovo publishes 1-year, or 2-year with a 1-year battery, courier or carry-in service as the base options for this machine type, and no 3-year base term exists for any ThinkBook. The build sheet for this part number does not state a warranty upgrade, so we are not claiming one. Every unit SourceIT sells carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice, and we will confirm the exact Lenovo term and start date for this part number before you order — and quote an onsite upgrade if you want one, which is cheaper bought now than added later.
Is this a Copilot+ PC?
No. Lenovo classes this machine type as an "AI PC" rather than a "Copilot+ PC". The difference is a real hardware bar: Copilot+ requires an NPU running 40 or more TOPS, and Lenovo does not publish an NPU rating for this machine type. The Intel Core Ultra ThinkBooks in the ordering table above are the ones Lenovo designates Copilot+, and we will happily quote one if that badge is a requirement.
What lock fits it?
A Kensington Nano lock, and only a Nano. The slot is 2.5 x 6 mm — a standard Kensington lock and a MicroSaver 2.0 lock will not fit it. This catches people out when they buy locks for a mixed fleet. We stock Lenovo's NanoSaver locks, including a twin-head model for offices running both slot types; ask us and we will match the lock to the machines you actually have.
How do I know I am comparing the right machine?
By the machine type, which for this one is 21JC, and by Lenovo's full model name, ThinkBook 14 G5 IRL. Lenovo sells several different laptops under the same generation number on different silicon — the three-letter suffix is what tells them apart. A quote that says only "ThinkBook G5" is ambiguous, and the machines it could mean differ in ports, panels and price.








