
APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #8
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #8 (RBC8) - 2 Years Local Warranty
APC RBC8 Replacement Battery Cartridge — A 10 kg Four-Block Smart-UPS Tray
The APC RBC8 is the replacement battery cartridge for the 1400 VA Smart-UPS rack generation. Schneider publishes it as a 10 kg sealed lead-acid assembly measuring 97 x 259 x 150 mm, finished in black and supplied ready to slide into the bay. That mass is the headline: this is a four-block tray, not the single-block cartridge its old specification described.
Fitting the genuine APC part matters on a cartridge this size. The tray carries the correct inter-block links and lead length for the bay, and the UPS calibrates its runtime estimate against the capacity it expects to find. Loose blocks assembled by hand will usually power the UPS up, and then leave it quietly misreporting how much time you have left.
RBC8 Specifications: What Schneider Publishes, and What the Old Listing Got Wrong
This page was rebuilt against Schneider’s own product data sheet and the numbers moved a long way. The net weight is 10 kg, not the 2.5 kg previously shown — a fourfold understatement, and enough to change how you quote freight or plan a bulk replacement programme. The cartridge measures 97 x 259 x 150 mm, not 150 x 65 x 95 mm; that older figure describes a single battery block, of which this tray holds four.
The certification line has gone too. Schneider publishes no UL or CE mark for this cartridge. What it does publish is a RoHS position of pro-active compliance with the product sitting outside the legal scope of the EU RoHS directive — a materially weaker statement than a plain compliance badge, and reproduced here as written.
Why This Listing Does Not State a Cartridge Voltage
Schneider’s data sheet for the RBC8 has a battery-voltage field and a capacity field, and leaves both blank. Its marketing copy elsewhere says “12V 7.0AH”, but 10 kg is about four times the weight of a single 12 V 7 Ah block, and the 259 mm width is four block-widths across. That figure describes one block inside the tray, not the tray.
With four blocks the arithmetic stops being decisive. The same four cells wired in series give one voltage; wired in two parallel pairs they give half that voltage at double the capacity. The assembly weighs exactly the same either way. Rather than publish a plausible guess on a part that customers order by number, the voltage row is left out and the reason given. If you need the figure for a design submission, ask us and we will request it from the distributor.
Smart-UPS Battery Replacement for Singapore Server Rooms
A 1400 VA rack Smart-UPS is usually doing quiet, unglamorous work at the bottom of a comms cabinet, and its battery is the part nobody looks at until a runtime test comes in short. Singapore’s 230 V, 50 Hz supply is among the most reliable in the region, but the storm-season dips that a UPS exists to ride through are exactly the moments a tired cartridge fails to deliver.
Ambient heat is what shortens these cells, and a cabinet sized for a lighter load runs warmer than the room it sits in. If your last cartridge did not last as long as you expected, the cabinet’s airflow is usually a better explanation than the battery. SourceIT supplies the RBC8 as genuine APC stock with a GST invoice and local Singapore warranty support, and can arrange collection of the exhausted tray for recycling.
APC RBC8 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Part Number (SKU) | RBC8 |
| Product Name | APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #8 with 2 Year Warranty |
| Product Type | Sealed lead-acid replacement battery cartridge, supplied assembled |
| Brand | APC by Schneider Electric |
| GTIN | 731304003304 |
| Manufacturer Warranty | 2-Year Manufacturer Warranty (APC by Schneider Electric) |
| Warranty Coverage | Local Warranty (Singapore) |
Battery Specifications
| Nominal Voltage | Not published — Schneider leaves the battery-voltage field blank on this multi-block cartridge. See the note in Compatibility & Runtime. |
| Capacity | Not published at cartridge level — the capacity field is blank too |
| Chemistry | Sealed lead-acid (VRLA), maintenance-free |
| Construction | Multi-block tray. The 10 kg mass and the 259 mm width across four block-widths indicate four blocks; Schneider does not state the count |
| Expected Service Life | Not published by Schneider for this cartridge |
Physical & Environmental
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 97 x 259 x 150 mm |
| Packaged Dimensions | 198 x 272 x 371 mm |
| Net Weight | 10 kg |
| Shipping Weight | 10.86 kg |
| Colour | Black |
| Operating Temperature | 0 to 40 °C |
| Storage Temperature | -15 to 45 °C |
| Relative Humidity | 0 to 95 percent, non-condensing |
| Operating Altitude | 0 to 10,000 ft |
| Storage Altitude | 0 to 50,000 ft |
| Carbon Footprint | 70 kg CO2 equivalent, lifecycle |
| Packaging | Recycled cardboard, minimum 70 percent (50 percent in the US) |
| Recyclability Potential | 1 percent |
| Take-back Programme | No |
| RoHS Position | Pro-active compliance (product out of EU RoHS legal scope) — Schneider’s own wording |
| REACh | REACh declaration available from Schneider Electric |
Compatibility & Runtime
Which UPS models does the RBC8 fit?
Schneider describes the RBC8 in its own product copy as a replaceable battery for the APC Smart-UPS range, and stops at the family. No Schneider document naming individual host models for this cartridge could be found, so what follows is labelled by where it comes from.
Authorised distributor listings converge on the 1400 VA rack Smart-UPS generation: SU1400RM, SU1400RMI, SU1400RMBX120, SU1400RMINET, and the SU1400RMX93, SU1400RMX106 and SU1400RMX176 regional builds. Those are distributor statements rather than Schneider ones, and they are published here as such.
The 230 V question, answered
This is not a North-American-only part. SU1400RMI and SU1400RMINET are the 230 V international builds of the same platform, so the RBC8 is genuinely relevant to a Singapore installed base. The 120 V SU1400RM and SU1400RMBX120 sit alongside them in the same cartridge fitment.
Why no voltage or capacity figure appears above
Both fields are blank on Schneider’s data sheet, and the four-block construction means the missing numbers cannot be recovered from the weight. The reasoning is set out under “Why This Listing Does Not State a Cartridge Voltage” in the description above. The practical consequence is simple: order by cartridge number, not by electrical rating.
The reliable way to check
Read the number printed on the tray you are taking out — APC prints the RBC number on the pack, and that label settles the question in a way no cross-reference table can. If the old tray has already gone, send us the UPS model and serial number and we will look it up. Schneider also publishes the UPS to RBC cross reference list, which maps UPS models to cartridge numbers.
Runtime after replacement
A fresh cartridge restores the runtime the UPS was designed around; it does not extend it. Runtime always depends on the connected load, so a unit running at a quarter of its rating will hold up far longer than one near capacity. If the UPS has external battery enclosures behind it, their cells have aged on the same clock and are worth testing at the same time.
Can it be changed with the UPS running?
Yes, on this family. Schneider FAQ FA303216, “Does my Smart-UPS have ‘Hot Swap’ batteries?” states that all Smart-UPS models with user-replaceable batteries — explicitly including part numbers beginning “SU” — have featured hot-swap battery modules since 1995, and the RBC8’s SU1400RM hosts fall inside that scope. Schneider adds its own caveat, and it is worth repeating: during the brief period when the battery is disconnected the UPS has no reserve, so a power event at that moment will drop the load. Pick a quiet window, not a stormy afternoon.
Package Contents & RBC Series Ordering Information
In the box
One assembled APC RBC8 cartridge, black, weighing 10 kg, with the APC installation instruction sheet. The tray is not rack-mountable in its own right — it seats inside the UPS chassis.
Adjacent APC cartridges at SourceIT
Cartridge numbers in this range are not interchangeable. Two cartridges can share a case, a weight and a chemistry and still differ in voltage, capacity or connector, so the number printed on the pack you are removing is the only safe way to order a replacement.
| RBC8 (this listing) | Four-block tray, 10 kg, 97 x 259 x 150 mm — 1400 VA rack Smart-UPS |
| RBC9 | 24 V, 7.0 Ah, two blocks, 4.95 kg — the 700 VA rack Smart-UPS cartridge |
| RBC25 | Four-block tray, 10.36 kg — a different case, voltage also unpublished |
| RBC23 | Four-block 2U tray, 10 kg — the same weight as the RBC8 in a different geometry |
| RBC34 | 6.36 kg flat 1U tray, 440 mm deep — the SUA750/1000RM1U cartridge |
Handling and disposal
Sealed lead-acid cartridges are classed as non-spillable but remain batteries for transport purposes, and at 10 kg this one is a deliberate two-hand lift out of a rack bay. The safety data sheet linked in the downloads section covers handling, storage and spill response. Ask us about collecting the exhausted tray for recycling when the new one is delivered.
Datasheet & Downloads
- Schneider Electric product page for the APC RBC8
- Schneider Electric product data sheet for the RBC8 (mirrored by Corporate Armor)
- APC channel reference for the RBC8, corroborating dimensions, weight and GTIN
- APC UPS to RBC Cross Reference List (document UPS_to_RBC_EN)
- Replacement Battery Cartridge manual for Back-UPS and Smart-UPS (SPD_JHSH-7ENFZG_EN)
- Schneider FAQ FA303216, “Does my Smart-UPS have ‘Hot Swap’ batteries?”
- Safety data sheet for APC sealed lead-acid battery cartridges (v3.3, 24 Sep 2025)
Every specification on this page was read out of the documents above. We do not link Schneider’s own download host directly: it redirects across domains and has repeatedly returned a different model’s document, so each copy linked here was opened and the part number printed inside checked against this listing. If you need the data sheet emailed as a PDF for a tender or a submittal, ask us and we will send it.
Frequently Asked Questions — APC RBC8
What voltage is the RBC8?
Schneider does not publish one, and this listing does not invent one. Both the battery-voltage and the capacity field on its data sheet are blank, and the “12V 7.0AH” that appears in Schneider’s marketing copy is the rating of a single block inside a 10 kg four-block tray. Four blocks can be wired for either double the voltage or double the capacity, and the tray weighs the same either way, so the honest answer is that it is not published.
The old listing said 2.5 kg. Which is right?
10 kg. The 2.5 kg figure came from boilerplate repeated across a large number of cartridge listings and matched almost none of them; it describes a single battery block. Schneider’s data sheet gives 10 kg net and 10.86 kg packaged, and two independent channel sources agree. If you quoted freight on the old number, requote it.
Will it fit a 230 V Smart-UPS?
Yes, on the models it is listed against. SU1400RMI and SU1400RMINET are the 230 V international builds of the SU1400RM platform and take the same cartridge, so this is not a part restricted to 120 V markets. Confirm against the number on your own tray before ordering.
Can I fit four loose 12 V 7 Ah batteries instead?
They will usually make contact, and we would still steer you away from it. A hand-built set has no warranty behind it, the link geometry is easy to get subtly wrong, and the UPS goes on estimating runtime against a capacity it can no longer rely on. It tends to work right up until the moment you need it to be accurate.
Do I need to shut the UPS down to change it?
No. Schneider FAQ FA303216 covers all Smart-UPS models with user-replaceable batteries, part numbers beginning “SU” included, and confirms hot-swap. Mind the caveat set out in Compatibility above: the load is unprotected for as long as the tray is out.
How does the RBC8 compare with the RBC9?
Same Smart-UPS rack family, very different cartridge. The RBC9 is a two-block 24 V 7.0 Ah tray weighing 4.95 kg for the 700 VA units; the RBC8 is a four-block tray at twice the weight for the 1400 VA units. They are not interchangeable, and the number on the pack is what you should order from.
Does it come with a local Singapore warranty?
Yes. Every APC RBC8 sold by SourceIT comes with local Singapore warranty and a GST invoice; APC backs the RBC8 with a 2-year manufacturer warranty. Schneider states the term as two years, repair or replace, with no regional split, so the figure above is the one that applies in Singapore.
