
APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #34
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #34 (RBC34) - 2 Years Local Warranty
APC RBC34 Replacement Battery Cartridge — A 440 mm Flat 1U-Format Tray
The APC RBC34 is a sealed lead-acid replacement battery cartridge in an unmistakably rack-shaped package: 43 mm tall, 173 mm wide and 440 mm deep, weighing 6.36 kg net and 7.05 kg packaged. Forty-three millimetres is 1U, and a 440 mm depth is a chassis dimension — this cartridge slides into a rack unit, it does not sit in a desktop battery bay.
Two separate copies of Schneider’s product data sheet, mirrored by two different authorised distributors, give identical dimensions and weights, so the physical description here is solid. The electrical description, for the reason set out in the next section, deliberately is not.
Why This Listing Publishes No Voltage or Capacity
Schneider’s data sheet for the RBC34 has a battery-voltage field, and in both available copies that field is empty. There is no capacity figure either. The previous version of this listing said 12 V and 9 Ah; neither number has any documented basis, and both have been removed rather than repeated.
The temptation is to work it out from the weight, and for a two-block cartridge that can be done. For a longer multi-block tray it cannot: the same set of cells wired in series gives one voltage at a given capacity, and wired in series-parallel gives half that voltage at double the capacity, with the mass identical either way. Where Schneider declines to publish the figure, this listing declines too and tells you why.
A 1U Smart-UPS Rack Cartridge, on the Available Evidence
Schneider names no host models, but three independent distributors converge on the SUA750RM1U and SUA1000RM1U together with their 230 V counterparts the SUA750RMI1U and SUA1000RMI1U. That is a coherent, voltage-paired family of 1U Smart-UPS rack units, and the cartridge’s 43 mm height fits it exactly. It is distributor evidence rather than a Schneider statement, and is published as such.
If those hosts are right, the RBC34 has genuine 230 V relevance for Singapore comms cabinets, where 1U of rack space is worth defending and a UPS that only needs a battery is worth keeping.
Local Supply, GST Invoice and Two-Year Warranty
SourceIT supplies the RBC34 as genuine APC stock in Singapore with GST invoicing and local warranty support. Schneider’s cartridge warranty is 24 months, repair or replace, with no regional split.
Given the gaps in what Schneider publishes for this part, we would rather confirm the fit than assume it. Send us the model and serial number of the UPS, or the number printed on the cartridge you are removing, and we will check before you order.
APC RBC34 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Part Number (SKU) | RBC34 |
| Product Name | APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #34 with 2 Year Warranty |
| Product Type | Sealed lead-acid replacement battery cartridge, supplied assembled |
| Brand | APC by Schneider Electric |
| GTIN | 0731304220664 |
| Manufacturer Warranty | 2-Year Manufacturer Warranty (APC by Schneider Electric) |
| Warranty Coverage | Local Warranty (Singapore) |
Battery Specifications
| Nominal Voltage | Not published — Schneider leaves the battery-voltage field blank in both available copies of the data sheet. See Compatibility & Runtime for the reasoning. |
| Capacity | Not published by Schneider for this cartridge |
| Chemistry | Sealed lead-acid (VRLA), maintenance-free |
| Construction | Multi-block assembly, supplied complete; block count not stated by Schneider |
Physical & Environmental
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 43 x 173 x 440 mm — a 1U-format tray |
| Net Weight | 6.36 kg |
| Shipping Weight | 7.05 kg |
| Operating Temperature | 0 to 40 °C |
| Storage Temperature | -15 to 45 °C |
| Relative Humidity | 0 to 95 percent, non-condensing |
| Operating Altitude | 0 to 10,000 ft |
| Storage Altitude | 0 to 15,240 m |
| RoHS Position | Not stated — two copies of Schneider’s data sheet give different positions, so neither is published. See the downloads note. |
| REACh | REACh declaration referenced by Schneider |
Compatibility & Runtime
Reported hosts, and how firm they are
Schneider publishes no host list for the RBC34. Three independent distributors name the same four models, which is the strongest convergence available for this part:
- SUA750RM1U and SUA1000RM1U — 120 V 1U Smart-UPS rack units
- SUA750RMI1U and SUA1000RMI1U — the 230 V international builds of the same models
The cartridge’s 43 mm height and 440 mm depth are consistent with a 1U chassis, which supports the reading. It remains distributor evidence rather than a Schneider statement, so confirm against the number printed on your existing cartridge before ordering.
Runtime, and the missing electrical rating
Because Schneider publishes neither a pack voltage nor a capacity for this cartridge — the reasoning is set out in the second section of this listing above — no stored-energy figure can be quoted, and runtime cannot be estimated from the specification. What is true regardless is that a new cartridge restores the runtime the UPS was designed around rather than extending it, and that the figure you actually see depends on the connected load. If you need the pack voltage for a design or a compliance submission, ask us and we will pursue it through the distributor rather than estimate it.
Rack fit
At 43 mm high the cartridge occupies the height of a 1U chassis and is 440 mm deep, so check the clearance behind the UPS before you plan the swap. In a shallow wall cabinet a 440 mm tray needs the front door open and a clear pull path.
Hot-swap: not claimed
If the reported Smart-UPS hosts are correct, Schneider’s FAQ FA303216 would apply at family level, since it covers Smart-UPS models with user-replaceable batteries introduced from 1995 onward. But the host family is not confirmed by any Schneider document, so no hot-swap claim is made on this page. Follow the procedure in your UPS manual.
Package Contents & RBC Series Ordering Information
In the box
One assembled APC RBC34 cartridge — a complete 1U-format tray — with the APC installation instruction sheet. Schneider publishes no colour for this part.
Rack-format APC cartridges at SourceIT
Cartridge numbers in this range are not interchangeable. Two cartridges can share a case, a weight and a chemistry and still differ in voltage, capacity or connector, so the number printed on the pack you are removing is the only safe way to order a replacement.
| RBC34 (this listing) | 6.36 kg, 43 x 173 x 440 mm — 1U tray, voltage not published |
| RBC31 | 48 V, 9 Ah, 11.23 kg — a 70 x 165 x 419 mm tray |
| RBC43 | 48 V, 10 Ah, 19.09 kg — a 2U tray 533 mm deep |
| RBC27 | 48 V, 24.55 kg — the Smart-UPS XL 3U cartridge |
| APCRBC123 | 24 V, 7.0 Ah — a current-range 2U Smart-UPS cartridge |
Handling
7.05 kg packaged and 440 mm long. Support it at both ends when withdrawing it from a chassis — a long flat tray is easy to twist, and there is little clearance around it once the UPS lid is off.
Datasheet & Downloads
- Schneider Electric product page for the APC RBC34
- Schneider Electric product data sheet for the RBC34 (as mirrored by Mouser, an authorised distributor)
- The same Schneider data sheet as mirrored by RS Components
- APC UPS to RBC Cross Reference List (document UPS_to_RBC_EN)
- Replacement Battery Cartridge manual for Back-UPS and Smart-UPS (SPD_JHSH-7ENFZG_EN)
- Safety data sheet for APC sealed lead-acid battery cartridges (v3.3, 24 Sep 2025)
The two copies above are the same Schneider document re-hosted by two distributors, and both were opened and checked against the part number printed inside. They agree exactly on every physical figure and disagree on one point: the Mouser-hosted copy states pro-active compliance with the product outside EU RoHS legal scope, while the RS-hosted copy states EU RoHS directive compliance. Because two Schneider documents contradict each other, no RoHS position is claimed on this page. Schneider’s own download host is not linked, because it redirects across domains and has repeatedly served the wrong model’s document.
Frequently Asked Questions — APC RBC34
What voltage is the RBC34?
Schneider does not publish one, and this page will not invent one. The battery-voltage field is blank in both available copies of the data sheet, and there is no capacity figure either. The 12 V and 9 Ah the previous listing carried had no documented source.
Can you not work the voltage out from the weight?
Not for a tray like this one. Four blocks wired in series produce double the voltage of the same four wired as two parallel pairs, at half the capacity — and the tray weighs exactly the same in both arrangements. That test works on a two-block cartridge; it does not work here.
Which UPS models does it fit?
Three independent distributors name the SUA750RM1U and SUA1000RM1U along with their 230 V counterparts, the SUA750RMI1U and SUA1000RMI1U. No Schneider document confirms it, so check the number printed on the cartridge you are removing, or send us your UPS details and we will verify.
Is it a rack part?
The dimensions say so. At 43 mm high it is a 1U format and at 440 mm deep it is a chassis-length tray. Note that this is the cartridge’s own shape, not a rack-mounting rating — it seats inside the UPS chassis rather than mounting to rails of its own.
Why is there no RoHS statement?
Because two copies of Schneider’s own data sheet give different answers — one says the product is outside EU RoHS legal scope with pro-active compliance, the other says it is EU RoHS compliant. That is a substantive contradiction between two manufacturer documents, so neither is published here. Ask us if you need a compliance position for a tender and we will get it in writing.
How does it compare with the RBC31?
Both are long trays and neither is a desktop part. The RBC31 is a confirmed 48 V 9 Ah pack, 70 mm tall and 11.23 kg; the RBC34 is 43 mm tall and 6.36 kg with no published electrical rating. Different chassis, and not interchangeable.
Does it come with a local Singapore warranty?
Yes. Every APC RBC34 sold by SourceIT comes with local Singapore warranty and a GST invoice; APC backs the RBC34 with a 2-year manufacturer warranty. Schneider states the term as two years, repair or replace, with no regional split, so the figure above is the one that applies in Singapore.
