
APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #26
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #26 (RBC26) - 2 Years Local Warranty
APC RBC26 Replacement Battery Cartridge — A 20.7 kg Smart-UPS XL Battery Pack Cartridge
The APC RBC26 is one of the heavy cartridges in the APC range: a 20.73 kg multi-block sealed lead-acid assembly measuring 94 x 323 x 406 mm, finished in black and supplied as a complete pack. Schneider describes it as the replaceable battery for an APC Smart-UPS XL Battery Pack — that is, for an external extended-runtime pack rather than for the UPS itself.
That distinction shapes everything else on this page. An external battery pack is a DC accessory that hangs off the UPS to extend runtime, so what goes inside it is not tied to a mains voltage and does not behave like the cartridge in the UPS itself.
Why This Listing Does Not State a Cartridge Voltage
Schneider’s product data sheet for the RBC26 has a battery-voltage field and leaves it blank. Its own marketing copy elsewhere says “12V 9AH”, but 20.73 kg is seven to eight times the weight of a single 12 V 9 Ah block, so that figure describes one block inside the pack and not the pack itself.
With four or more blocks, mass alone cannot settle the answer: the same set of cells can be wired in series for a high voltage or in series-parallel for double the capacity at half the voltage. Rather than publish a plausible guess, the voltage row is left out and the reason given. If you need the figure for a design or a compliance submission, ask us and we will pursue it with the distributor.
Extended-Runtime Battery Packs in a Singapore Rack
External battery packs exist for the cases where a few minutes of ride-through is not enough — a site that needs to survive a longer interruption, or one where a generator takes time to pick up the load. The cells in those packs age the same way as the ones inside the UPS, and because they sit unnoticed at the bottom of a rack they are often the last thing anyone checks.
In Singapore’s climate that neglect costs more than it does in a temperate one. A rack that runs warm because the room’s cooling was sized for a lighter load will take years off a lead-acid pack, and the first sign is usually a runtime test that comes in far short of the design figure.
Freight, Handling and Local Supply
At 20.73 kg net and 21.82 kg packaged in a 248 x 478 x 533 mm carton, the RBC26 is a two-hand lift and a palletised item in quantity. Plan the delivery and the installation access accordingly, particularly if the pack lives at the base of a full rack.
SourceIT supplies it as genuine APC stock with a GST invoice and local Singapore warranty support, under Schneider’s two-year repair-or-replace cartridge warranty. We can also arrange collection of the old pack for recycling — sealed lead-acid cartridges should never go into general waste.
APC RBC26 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Part Number (SKU) | RBC26 |
| Product Name | APC Replacement Battery Cartridge #26 with 2 Year Warranty |
| Product Type | Sealed lead-acid replacement battery cartridge, supplied assembled |
| Brand | APC by Schneider Electric |
| GTIN | 731304220794 |
| Manufacturer Warranty | 2-Year Manufacturer Warranty (APC by Schneider Electric) |
| Warranty Coverage | Local Warranty (Singapore) |
Battery Specifications
| Nominal Voltage | Not published — Schneider leaves the battery-voltage field blank on this multi-block cartridge. See the note in Compatibility & Runtime. |
| Capacity | Not published at cartridge level |
| Chemistry | Sealed lead-acid (VRLA), maintenance-free |
| Construction | Multi-block assembly; block count not stated by Schneider |
Physical & Environmental
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 94 x 323 x 406 mm |
| Packaged Dimensions | 248 x 478 x 533 mm |
| Net Weight | 20.73 kg |
| Shipping Weight | 21.82 kg |
| Colour | Black |
| Rack-mountable | No |
| Operating Temperature | 0 to 40 °C |
| Storage Temperature | -15 to 45 °C |
| Relative Humidity | 0 to 95 percent, non-condensing |
| Operating Altitude | 0 to 10,000 ft |
| Storage Altitude | 0 to 50,000 ft |
| Carbon Footprint | 144 kg CO2 equivalent, lifecycle |
| Recycled Plastic Content | 15 percent |
| Green Premium | Yes |
| RoHS Position | Pro-active compliance (product out of EU RoHS legal scope) — Schneider’s own wording |
| REACh | REACh declaration available from Schneider Electric |
Compatibility & Runtime
What the RBC26 goes into
Schneider’s own product copy describes the RBC26 as the replaceable battery for an APC Smart-UPS XL Battery Pack. It names the family and not the model. The candidate that matches that description in Schneider’s catalogue is the SU24R2XLBP (also catalogued as SU24RMXLBP2U), the “APC Smart-UPS XL Battery Pack 24V, 864VAh, rackmount, 2U”, and distributor listings do pair the two. Schneider’s own page for that pack does not name the RBC26 in the text it serves, so the pairing is reported here as unconfirmed rather than dressed up.
Mains voltage does not apply
External battery packs connect to the UPS on the DC side. There is no 120 V or 230 V version of the cartridge, so the usual question about whether a part suits Singapore mains does not arise here — what matters is only whether your pack is one that takes an RBC26.
Checking before you order
Read the number printed on the cartridge you are removing, or consult the UPS to RBC cross reference list. Given the weight and the freight involved, this is worth confirming twice — send us your enclosure’s model and serial number and we will check it.
Runtime
An extended-runtime system is only as good as its weakest cells, and they age together. If the cartridge inside the UPS is due for replacement, the ones in the external enclosures behind it almost certainly are too — a runtime test after the swap will tell you quickly whether the rest of the string is still pulling its weight. On the voltage question, see the second section of this listing above: Schneider does not publish a figure and neither do we.
Hot-swap: not claimed
Schneider’s hot-swap position covers Smart-UPS units with user-replaceable batteries. An external enclosure is a different animal, and no Schneider document extends the statement to it. Isolate the enclosure from the UPS and follow the instructions supplied with the cartridge.
Package Contents & RBC Series Ordering Information
In the box
One assembled APC RBC26 cartridge, black, weighing 20.73 kg, with the APC installation instruction sheet. The cartridge is not rack-mountable in its own right — it seats inside the battery pack’s enclosure.
Other heavy APC cartridges at SourceIT
Cartridge numbers in this range are not interchangeable. Two cartridges can share a case, a weight and a chemistry and still differ in voltage, capacity or connector, so the number printed on the pack you are removing is the only safe way to order a replacement.
| RBC26 (this listing) | Multi-block, 20.73 kg, 94 x 323 x 406 mm — Smart-UPS XL battery pack |
| RBC27 | 48 V, 24.55 kg, 108 x 165 x 572 mm — the Smart-UPS XL 3U rack cartridge |
| RBC31 | 48 V, 9 Ah, 11.23 kg — a long 419 mm tray |
| RBC34 | 6.36 kg flat 1U-format tray, 440 mm deep |
| APCRBC152 | 96 V, 15.29 kg — the Smart-UPS On-Line SRT cartridge |
Handling and disposal
Sealed lead-acid cartridges are classed as non-spillable but remain batteries for transport purposes, and at this weight two people should handle the lift. The safety data sheet linked in the downloads section covers handling, storage and spill response. Ask us about collecting the exhausted pack for recycling when the new one is delivered.
Datasheet & Downloads
- Schneider Electric product page for the APC RBC26
- Schneider Electric product data sheet for the RBC26 (as mirrored by Mouser, an authorised distributor)
- The same Schneider data sheet as mirrored by RS Components
- APC UPS to RBC Cross Reference List (document UPS_to_RBC_EN)
- Replacement Battery Cartridge manual for Back-UPS and Smart-UPS (SPD_JHSH-7ENFZG_EN)
- Safety data sheet for APC sealed lead-acid battery cartridges (v3.3, 24 Sep 2025)
The two data-sheet copies above are the same Schneider document re-hosted by two authorised distributors; both were opened and the part number inside checked against this listing. Schneider’s own download host is deliberately not linked, because it redirects across domains and has repeatedly served a different model’s document.
Frequently Asked Questions — APC RBC26
What voltage is the RBC26?
Schneider does not publish one, and this listing does not invent one. The battery-voltage field on its data sheet is blank, and the “12V 9AH” that appears in Schneider’s marketing copy is the rating of a single block inside a 20.73 kg multi-block pack. Four or more blocks can be wired for either double the voltage or double the capacity, and the weight is the same either way, so the honest answer is that it is not published.
Is this the battery for a UPS or for a battery pack?
For a battery pack. Schneider describes the RBC26 as the replaceable battery for an APC Smart-UPS XL Battery Pack — an external extended-runtime unit that connects to the UPS on the DC side, not the cartridge that sits inside the UPS itself.
How much does it weigh, and does that affect delivery?
20.73 kg net, 21.82 kg packaged, in a carton measuring 248 x 478 x 533 mm. It is a two-person lift and, in quantity, a palletised delivery. The previous version of this listing gave 6.6 kg, which understated it by more than three times.
Can I change it while the system is running?
No claim is made here. Schneider’s hot-swap statement is written for Smart-UPS units with user-replaceable batteries, and an external battery pack is outside its scope. Isolate the pack before opening it.
How do I confirm the RBC26 is the right cartridge?
The number is printed on the pack you are removing, and that is the definitive check. If the old pack has already gone, send us the model and serial number of the battery pack and we will look it up against Schneider’s cross-reference before you commit to the freight.
What is the environmental position on this cartridge?
Schneider publishes a lifecycle carbon footprint of 144 kg CO2 equivalent, 15 percent recycled plastic content, Green Premium status, and a RoHS position of pro-active compliance with the product outside the legal scope of the EU directive. It publishes no UL or CE mark, so none is claimed.
Does it come with a local Singapore warranty?
Yes. Every APC RBC26 sold by SourceIT comes with local Singapore warranty and a GST invoice; APC backs the RBC26 with a 2-year manufacturer warranty. Schneider states the term as two years, repair or replace, with no regional split, so the figure above is the one that applies in Singapore.
