
Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000 Combo
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000 (M7J-00019) - Local Warranty
Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000 — Wireless Keyboard and Mouse with AES Encryption
The Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000 (M7J-00019) is a wireless keyboard and mouse set that Microsoft describes as featuring Advanced Encryption Standard. In an office where the keyboard sits in an open-plan area or a shared meeting room, an encrypted wireless link removes the most obvious eavesdropping concern about wireless keyboards.
One qualification worth stating plainly: Microsoft publishes the AES claim for the set as a whole and does not say which component it applies to, nor at what bit length. Other Microsoft sets publish that detail; this one does not, so we do not fill it in.
An Unusually Wide Operating-System List
Microsoft publishes support for Windows 11 Home and Pro, Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP excluding the 64-bit edition, plus Mac OS X v10.4.x to v10.7. That reach into older platforms is the reason this set still appears in refresh projects covering legacy equipment.
Note the Software and Media Requirements
Two requirements on Microsoft’s page date this product and matter for deployment. It calls for Microsoft IntelliPoint 8.0 and IntelliType Pro 8.0 rather than the current Mouse and Keyboard Center, and it lists a CD-ROM drive as a required media drive. Microsoft also states 100 MB of disk space on a PC and 30 MB on a Mac, and a USB port.
Check both before a rollout: many current machines have no optical drive, and this set is not named in Microsoft’s current Mouse and Keyboard Center supported-device list. Supplied by SourceIT in Singapore with a GST invoice and local support. For a written quotation, current stock position or delivery lead time, contact our team.
Specification note. Microsoft has withdrawn its own-brand PC accessory catalogue; a routed Microsoft Store listing for this set survives and shows the product as out of stock. No current Microsoft page displays the part number M7J-00019. Microsoft publishes the Advanced Encryption Standard claim for the set without naming the component or the bit length, and publishes no component names, wireless range, battery type, battery life, tracking technology, resolution, button count, dimensions, weight, colour or warranty term. Those fields are named below rather than filled. Ask our team if you need a specification confirmed in writing.
Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Product Name | Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000 |
| Part Number (SourceIT) | M7J-00019 |
| Product Type | Wireless keyboard and mouse set |
| Security | Advanced Encryption Standard — Microsoft publishes the claim for the set but does not state which component it applies to or the bit length |
| Manufacturer Warranty | Not published by Microsoft |
| Local Warranty (Singapore) | Supplied by SourceIT with local support and a GST invoice |
System Requirements
| Operating System (PC) | Windows 11 Home / Pro, Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP excluding the 64-bit edition |
| Operating System (Mac) | Mac OS X v10.4.x to v10.7 |
| Hard Disk Space | 100 MB on a PC; 30 MB on a Mac |
| Ports | A USB port is required |
| Required Media Drive | CD-ROM |
| Software | Microsoft IntelliPoint v8.0 and Microsoft IntelliType Pro v8.0 |
Specifications Microsoft Does Not Publish for This Product
The following are commonly asked about but are not stated on any current official Microsoft source for this part number, so SourceIT does not quote them: component names, which component the AES claim applies to, the AES bit length, connection type, wireless range, battery type and battery life, mouse tracking technology, resolution in DPI, button count, keyboard layout, dimensions, weight, colour and a manufacturer warranty term. We would rather leave a field blank than print a figure we cannot substantiate.
Product Status, Availability and Warranty
Microsoft has withdrawn its own-brand PC accessory catalogue. The microsoft.com/accessories product pages for this range now redirect to Microsoft's general hardware-warranty and PC-accessories support pages, and the Microsoft Store Singapore PC-accessories collection returns no results. Microsoft has published no formal discontinuation notice for this product; the evidence is the removal of the pages themselves.
A routed Microsoft Store listing for this set survives and shows the product as out of stock at Microsoft. Microsoft has published no end-of-support date.
Microsoft’s page for this set points at superseded software. It specifies IntelliPoint 8.0 and IntelliType Pro 8.0, whereas Microsoft’s current configuration software is the Mouse and Keyboard Center. This set is not named in the current Mouse and Keyboard Center supported-device list, so do not assume the current software will configure it.
Microsoft lists a CD-ROM drive as a required media drive. Most machines bought in the last decade do not have one. Factor this into any deployment plan that depends on the bundled software.
This listing shows zero inventory in our system. Contact SourceIT for the current stock position and lead time before you raise a purchase order.
Warranty Position
Microsoft no longer publishes a warranty term for this product. Microsoft's current PC accessory warranty page states only that the accessory "comes with a 'limited hardware warranty' depending on the device" and directs the buyer to check their proof of purchase to identify the warranty period. SourceIT therefore does not quote a manufacturer term for this item. Ask our team to confirm the warranty position in writing before you order.
The local warranty named in the heading of this listing is SourceIT's own commercial term, not a figure published by Microsoft. Ask our team to confirm the term in writing with your quotation.
Compatibility, Setup and Software
Microsoft publishes a wide operating-system list: Windows 11 Home and Pro, Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP excluding the 64-bit edition on the PC side, and Mac OS X v10.4.x to v10.7 on the Mac side.
Microsoft requires 100 MB of disk space on a PC or 30 MB on a Mac, a USB port, and a CD-ROM drive for the supplied software.
The software Microsoft names is IntelliPoint 8.0 and IntelliType Pro 8.0, not the current Mouse and Keyboard Center, and this set does not appear in the current Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Center supported-device list. Confirm with us before planning a deployment that depends on configurable keys.
Microsoft does not publish the connection type or the wireless range for this set, so we do not state them.
Official Microsoft Sources & Downloads
- Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000 — surviving Microsoft Store listing with system requirements
- Microsoft PC accessory warranty — support.microsoft.com
- Devices supported by Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Center
- Microsoft PC accessories support hub
Only the Microsoft sources above were used to build this page.
Frequently Asked Questions — Microsoft Wireless Desktop 2000
Is the wireless link encrypted?
Microsoft states that the set features Advanced Encryption Standard, but does not say which component it applies to or at what bit length. We publish Microsoft’s claim as made and do not add detail it omits.
Do I really need a CD-ROM drive?
Microsoft lists one as a required media drive for the bundled software. The keyboard and mouse themselves are USB devices; the requirement relates to installing IntelliPoint and IntelliType Pro. Most current machines have no optical drive, so plan accordingly.
Will the current Microsoft software configure it?
Unconfirmed. Microsoft’s page names IntelliPoint 8.0 and IntelliType Pro 8.0, and this set is not listed in the current Mouse and Keyboard Center supported-device list.
Does it work on a Mac?
Microsoft publishes Mac OS X v10.4.x to v10.7. That is a very old range and will not cover a current Mac.
What batteries does it take?
Microsoft does not publish a battery type or battery life for this set.
What warranty applies?
Microsoft publishes no warranty term for this set. Its current PC accessory warranty page directs buyers to their proof of purchase. SourceIT supplies it with local support and a GST invoice. The local warranty named in the heading of this listing is SourceIT's own commercial term, not a figure published by Microsoft. Ask our team to confirm the term in writing with your quotation.
