Rising component costs may adjust prices on selected items without prior notice. Supply constraints may add shipping time — we’ll notify you if affected. OEM costs and supply tightening — contact us to secure stock and pricing. For projects or bulk orders, choose “Request for Quotation” on any item.
Call our specialists(65) 6978 3502 Email our sales teamsales@sourceit.com.sg
Microsoft Windows Server 2025 Datacenter Edition (64 - Bit, 16 - Core, OEM, DVD)

Microsoft Windows Server 2025 Datacenter Edition (64-Bit, 16-Core, OEM, DVD)

SKU: EP2-25149

  • S$7,649.80
    Unit price per 
  • Save S$1,531.80
Shipping calculated at checkout.

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Microsoft Windows Server 2025 Datacenter (EP2-25149) - Local Support

Windows Server 2025 Datacenter — 16 cores, supplied on DVD

This SKU licenses 16 cores, supplied on DVD of Windows Server 2025 Datacenter. It is an OEM licence supplied with DVD media.

Microsoft’s published rule is exact: “The number of Licenses required equals the number of Physical Cores on the Licensed Server, subject to a minimum of 8 Licenses per Physical Processor and a minimum of 16 Licenses per Server.” Separately, “the Per Core/CAL licensing model requires you to license all physical cores on the server”. A single-processor server with four cores still needs sixteen core licences.

Count the Cores Before You Order — the Minimum Catches People Out

The commonest costing error on Windows Server is assuming you buy licences for the cores you intend to use. You do not: you license every physical core in the server, and never fewer than eight per processor or sixteen per server. A two-processor machine with ten cores each needs twenty core licences, not sixteen.

Microsoft publishes only two pack sizes: a 2-core pack and a 16-core pack. Its wording is “Windows Server core licenses are sold in packs (2 core pack and 16 core pack)”. Where this store lists a 4-core or 8-core pack, that is a distributor or programme SKU rather than a pack size Microsoft describes in its licensing guidance. The underlying entitlement is the same: a core licence is a core licence.

Virtualisation Rights: Unlimited

Microsoft’s product terms: “Datacenter edition permits use of the server software in any number of OSEs on the Licensed Server.” Its licensing guidance expands this to “unlimited operating system environments (physical or virtual OSEs) or Windows Server Containers with Hyper-V isolation as well as any number of Windows Server containers without Hyper-V isolation”. Once every physical core is licensed, there is no virtualisation ceiling and no stacking to calculate.

One nuance that is very widely misreported: both editions get unlimited Windows Server containers without Hyper-V isolation. The two-versus-unlimited difference applies to operating system environments and to Hyper-V-isolated containers only. Do not read “Standard = 2” as a limit on ordinary containers.

Client Access Licences Are a Separate Purchase

Client Access Licences are required in addition to the server licence, not instead of it. Microsoft: “A CAL is not a software product; rather, it is a license that gives a user the right to access the services of the server”, and “Windows Server Standard and Datacenter editions continue to require Windows Server CALs for every user or device accessing a server”. Budget for the server licence and the CALs together.

We list Windows Server 2025 User and Device CALs separately, along with Remote Desktop Services CALs for anyone who needs a graphical session on the server. Tell us the user and device counts and we will quote the whole position rather than just the server. Supplied by SourceIT in Singapore with a GST invoice and local support. For a written quotation, current stock position or delivery lead time, contact our team.

Microsoft Windows Server 2025 Datacenter Datasheet — Licensing and Specifications

Licence

Product Name Microsoft Windows Server 2025 Datacenter
Part Number (SourceIT) EP2-25149
Licence Covers 16 cores, supplied on DVD
Licence Type OEM perpetual licence, supplied with DVD media
Edition Datacenter
Licensing Model Per Core, plus Client Access Licences
Minimum per Processor 8 core licences
Minimum per Server 16 core licences
All Physical Cores Must be licensed
Virtualisation Rights Any number of operating system environments once every physical core is licensed
CALs Required Yes — in addition to this licence, for every user or device accessing the server
Transferable No — OEM core licences cannot be reassigned to different hardware
Local Support (Singapore) Supplied by SourceIT with local support and a GST invoice

Edition Capabilities as Microsoft Publishes Them

Storage Spaces Direct Included
Host Guardian Hyper-V Support Included
Network Controller Included
Storage Replica Full
GPU partitioning Included
Hotpatching Available on both editions as an Azure Arc-enabled service
SMB over QUIC Available on both editions
Windows Server containers without Hyper-V isolation Unlimited on both editions

What Microsoft Does Not Publish for This Product

The following are commonly asked about but are not stated on any current official Microsoft source for this product, so SourceIT does not quote them: RAM, disk and network minimums in a verifiable form, a 4-core or 8-core pack size in Microsoft licensing guidance and a Singapore price. We would rather leave a field blank than print a figure we cannot substantiate.

Lifecycle, End of Support and Entitlement

Windows Server 2025 is a Long-Term Servicing Channel release under the Fixed Lifecycle Policy. Microsoft publishes mainstream support ending in November 2029 and extended support ending in November 2034, with its lifecycle database and its release-health page rendering each date one day apart. Both renderings appear in the table below.

This is a perpetual licence: a one-time purchase with no renewal. Note that “perpetual” describes the licence, not the support — Microsoft publishes a dated end of support for Windows Server 2025 (see the lifecycle section), and we do not use the word “lifetime” anywhere on this page.

This is an OEM licence and it cannot be moved to different hardware. Microsoft’s OEM use terms state “You may not reassign core licenses for software obtained from a manufacturer or installer, unless you purchase those additional license rights”, and that you may transfer the software “only with the licensed server”. If you expect to replace the hardware inside the licence’s useful life, a volume or CSP licence is reassignable — Microsoft permits reassignment between server farms “but not on a short-term basis (i.e., not within 90 days of the last assignment)”. Ask us to quote both routes.

Hotpatching: two Microsoft sources disagree on price, so confirm before you budget. Hotpatching installs operating-system security updates without restarting the machine. It requires Windows Server 2025 Standard or Datacenter connected to Azure Arc, build 26100.1742 or later, with virtualisation-based security, UEFI and Secure Boot enabled. Microsoft’s current documentation states it “is now available at no extra cost”. A Microsoft announcement of April 2025 had instead set a subscription of “$1.50 USD per CPU core per month” from July 2025. We publish both because both are Microsoft statements; ask us to confirm the current position in writing before you plan around it. Hotpatching is available on both editions — it is not a Datacenter exclusive.

Published Lifecycle Dates

Servicing model Long-Term Servicing Channel (LTSC), under the Fixed Lifecycle Policy
Release date 1 November 2024 per the lifecycle database and the release-health page. Microsoft’s update history separately shows the first build, KB5046617 (OS build 26100.2314), shipping 12 November 2024
Mainstream support ends 14 November 2029 per the lifecycle database; 13 November 2029 per the release-health page
Extended support ends 15 November 2034 per the lifecycle database; 14 November 2034 per the release-health page
Why two dates The same instant rendered in different timezones. Microsoft’s lifecycle page labels its dates Pacific Time yet renders them at 06:59:59, which is midnight PT of the previous day expressed in UTC. Both renderings are published here rather than one being chosen

Support and Entitlement Position

A software licence carries no hardware warranty. SourceIT supplies this licence with local Singapore support and a GST invoice, and will confirm the licensing position in writing before you order — which on server licensing is worth doing, because the cost of getting it wrong surfaces at audit rather than at purchase. No warranty term is quoted or implied.

Compatibility, Deployment and System Requirements

Microsoft’s Windows Server 2025 edition-comparison table marks three capabilities as Datacenter only: Storage Spaces Direct, Host Guardian Hyper-V Support and Network Controller. Note Microsoft’s labels — it does not publish rows called “Shielded Virtual Machines” or “Software Defined Networking” for 2025, and we use its wording rather than the older marketing names.

SMB over QUIC is no longer restricted to Azure Edition. Microsoft: the feature “which was only available in Windows Server Azure Edition, is now available in both Windows Server Standard and Windows Server Datacenter versions”.

Microsoft’s RAM, disk and network minimums are not stated here because Microsoft does not publish them in a citable form, and this page does not print a specification it cannot cite. Ask us and we will confirm them against Microsoft before you size the hardware.

System Requirements

Processor (minimum) 1.4 GHz 64-bit processor, compatible with the x64 instruction set
Processor instruction support NX and DEP; CMPXCHG16b, LAHF/SAHF and PrefetchW; Second Level Address Translation (EPT or NPT); SSE4.2; POPCNT
Firmware UEFI 2.3.1c-based system and firmware with Secure Boot support
TPM TPM 2.0 — required for BitLocker and for Secured-core server
Graphics Super VGA (1024 × 768) or higher
Optical drive A DVD drive, if installing from DVD media
Input and network Keyboard and mouse or compatible pointing device; internet access
RAM, disk and network minimums Microsoft does not publish these minimums in a form this page can cite. Ask our team and we will confirm them against Microsoft before you size the hardware.
Official Microsoft Sources & Downloads
Frequently Asked Questions — Microsoft Windows Server 2025 Datacenter

How many core licences do I actually need?

Count every physical core in the server, then apply the floors: never fewer than 8 per processor and never fewer than 16 per server. A single-processor four-core machine still needs 16. Tell us the processor and core count and we will do the arithmetic with you.

Do I need CALs as well?

Yes. Microsoft requires a Windows Server CAL for every user or device accessing the server, in addition to the server licence itself. CALs are not included in this SKU.

How many virtual machines does it allow?

Any number, once every physical core is licensed.

Can I run unlimited containers?

Both editions allow unlimited Windows Server containers without Hyper-V isolation. The two-versus-unlimited difference applies to operating system environments and Hyper-V-isolated containers. This is very widely misreported.

Is the licence transferable to a new server?

No. This is an OEM licence and Microsoft ties it to the server it was sold with. If you expect a hardware refresh, ask us to quote a volume or CSP licence instead, which is reassignable subject to a 90-day rule.

Does it include hotpatching?

Hotpatching is available on both Standard and Datacenter as an Azure Arc-enabled service, so it is not an edition difference. Be careful on cost: Microsoft’s current documentation says it is available at no extra cost, while a Microsoft announcement of April 2025 set a subscription of USD$1.50 per CPU core per month. Ask us to confirm the current position before you budget.

Does this licence expire?

The licence itself is perpetual and does not expire. Support does have a date: Microsoft publishes mainstream support for Windows Server 2025 ending in November 2029 and extended support ending in November 2034.


We Also Recommend

Microsoft 365 E5 (no Teams) Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Microsoft 365 E5 Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Sale price S$846.40
Save S$105.80
Microsoft 365 E3 Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Microsoft 365 E3 Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Sale price S$552.00
Save S$69
Microsoft 365 E3 Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Microsoft 365 F3 Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Sale price S$139.84
Save S$18.40
Microsoft 365 E3 Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Microsoft 365 Business Premium Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Sale price S$308.20
Save S$41.40
Microsoft 365 Business Standard Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Microsoft 365 Business Standard Annual Subscription (12 Months)

Sale price S$195.96
Save S$24.84