Lenovo ThinkStation P5 TWR Xeon w3-2423 /32GB /512GB+2TB /RTX2000
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Lenovo ThinkStation P5 Tower Workstation, Xeon w3-2423 / 32 GB / RTX 2000 Ada (30GA009TSG) - 3 Years Premier Support, Singapore Local Warranty
The same platform, a larger graphics card
This build is the sister of the RTX A1000 machine on this store: the same Intel Xeon w3-2423 six-core processor, the same 32 GB of DDR5-4800 RDIMM ECC, the same 512 GB SSD and 2 TB disk — with an NVIDIA RTX 2000 Ada Generation 16 GB in place of the 8 GB RTX A1000. If the workload is graphics-bound rather than processor-bound, this is where the extra outlay goes.
Eight slots but four channels
The P5 publishes eight DDR5 DIMM slots on four memory channels, up to 512 GB with 64 GB RDIMMs. Lenovo also prints its own caveat that some configurations run at 4400 MT/s rather than 4800 depending on the processor's memory support — so a DDR5-4800 module does not guarantee a DDR5-4800 result.
Know the graphics ceiling before you specify it
Lenovo publishes the P5 as supporting up to two RTX 5000 Ada Generation or two RTX A6000 — half the P8's ceiling — and the RTX 6000 Ada is not offered on this platform at all. No AMD Radeon PRO card of any kind appears in the P5 book. If a build needs a W7900 or a third GPU, it needs a P8, and we will quote one.
A 33-litre tower with no published rack option
165 x 453.9 x 440 mm and up to 19 kg in maximum configuration. Six PCIe slots, of which only two are Gen 5. Power supplies are 750 W or 1000 W at 92 per cent autosensing, 80 PLUS Platinum qualified. Networking is a single Intel I219-LM gigabit port — 10-gigabit is an add-in card here, where the P8 has it onboard. Lenovo publishes no rack-mount option for the P5.
Lenovo ThinkStation P5 Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Brand | Lenovo |
| Product name | ThinkStation P5 |
| Machine type | 30GA |
| Part number | 30GA009TSG |
| Product category | Tower workstation |
| Warranty as configured | 3 Years Premier Support, Singapore Local Warranty |
| Sold and supported by | SourceIT Pte Ltd, Singapore |
This Configuration — From the Distributor Build Sheet for 30GA009TSG
| Processor | Intel® Xeon® w3-2423 |
| Cores / threads | 6C (6P + 0E) / 12T |
| Base clock | 2.1GHz |
| Max boost clock | 4.2GHz |
| Cache | 15MB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA® RTX 2000 Ada Generation 16GB |
| Memory installed | 32GB |
| Memory type and speed | RDIMM DDR5-4800 ECC |
| Storage | 512GB SSD M.2 2280 PCIe® 4.0x4 Performance NVMe® Opal |
| Second drive | 2TB HDD 7200rpm 3.5-inch SATA6Gb/s |
| Chipset | Intel® W790 Chipset |
| Power supply | 750W Platinum Fixed |
| Wired network | Intel® I219-LM, 1x GbE RJ-45 |
| Wireless | Intel® Wi-Fi® 6E AX211, 11ax 2x2 + BT5.1, vPro® |
| Keyboard and mouse | USB Keyboard & Mouse |
| Bundled items | USB Keyboard & Mouse |
| Operating system | Windows® 11 Pro for Workstations, English |
| Warranty stated on build sheet | 3 Year Premier Support |
Chassis and Platform — From Lenovo PSREF
| Lenovo official model name | ThinkStation P5 |
| Machine type | 30GA |
| Form factor | Tower (33L) |
| Chassis dimensions | 165 x 453.9 x 440 mm (6.5 x 17.9 x 17.3 inches, with feet) |
| Weight (maximum configuration) | 19 kg (41.9 lbs, maximum configuration) |
| Chassis volume | 33L |
| Rack mounting | not published |
| Processor socket | 1x FCLGA4677 |
| Chipset | Intel® W790 chipset |
| Processor summary as published | Up to one 225W Intel® Xeon® W-2400 Series processor, supports up to 24 cores, up to 4.8GHz |
| Processor options published | Xeon® w7-2595X, Xeon® w7-2575X, Xeon® w5-2565X, Xeon® w5-2555X, Xeon® w5-2545, Xeon® w3-2535, Xeon® w3-2525, Xeon® w7-2495X, Xeon® w7-2475X, Xeon® w5-2465X, Xeon® w5-2455X, Xeon® w5-2445, Xeon® w3-2435, Xeon® w3-2425, Xeon® w3-2423 |
| Memory type | DDR5-4800 RDIMM ECC |
| Memory slots | 8 DDR5 DIMM slots |
| Memory channels | 4 channels capable |
| Maximum memory | Up to 512GB (8x 64GB RDIMM) |
| Memory population rules | not published (beyond the 8-slot / 4-channel statement and the max-capacity line) |
| M.2 capacity | Up to 7x M.2 SSD: 2 via onboard slots, PCIe® 4.0 x4; 4 via Quad M.2 to PCIe® Gen 4 adapter; 1 via front access M.2 bay, PCIe® 4.0 x4 |
| Drive bays | Three internal disk bays plus one front access M.2 bay |
| Maximum drives | Up to ten drives (3x 3.5-inch SATA HDD + 7x M.2 SSD) |
| RAID | SATA: RAID 0/1/5. Optional NVMe controllers: RAID 0/1/10 or RAID 0/1/10/5 |
| Maximum graphics supported | Supports up to two NVIDIA® RTX 5000 Ada Generation or two NVIDIA® RTX A6000 |
| Graphics options published | NVIDIA® RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Max-Q Workstation Edition 96GB GDDR7 with ECC (300W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell 48GB GDDR7 with ECC (300W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX PRO 4500 Blackwell 32GB GDDR7 with ECC (200W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX PRO 4000 Blackwell 24GB GDDR7 with ECC (140W, Single slot); NVIDIA® RTX PRO 2000 Blackwell 16GB GDDR7 with ECC (70W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX A6000 48GB GDDR6 with ECC (300W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX 5000 Ada Generation 32GB GDDR6 with ECC (250W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX 4500 Ada Generation 24GB GDDR6 with ECC (210W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX 4000 Ada Generation 20GB GDDR6 with ECC (130W, Single slot); NVIDIA® RTX 2000 Ada Generation 16GB GDDR6 with ECC (70W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® T1000 8GB GDDR6 (50W, Single slot); NVIDIA® T400 4GB GDDR6 (40W, Single slot); NVIDIA® RTX A5500 24GB GDDR6 with ECC (230W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX A5000 24GB GDDR6 with ECC (230W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX A4500 20GB GDDR6 with ECC (200W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX A4000 16GB GDDR6 with ECC (140W, Single slot); NVIDIA® RTX A2000 12GB GDDR6 (70W, Dual slot); NVIDIA® RTX A1000 8GB GDDR6 (50W, Single slot); NVIDIA® RTX A400 4GB GDDR6 (50W, Single slot) |
| Expansion slots | 6 PCIe® slots with 2x PCIe® 5.0 slots and 4x PCIe® 4.0 slots |
| Slot detail | Slot 1: PCIe 5.0 x16, full height/full length, 75W, CPU-connected; Slot 2: PCIe 4.0 x4, full height/full length, 25W, chipset-connected; Slot 3: PCIe 5.0 x16, full height/full length, 75W, CPU-connected; Slot 4: PCIe 4.0 x4, full height/full length, 25W, chipset-connected; Slot 5: PCIe 4.0 x8, full height/full length, 25W, CPU-connected; Slot 6: PCIe 4.0 x4, full height/full length, 25W, chipset-connected |
| Power supply options | 750W, 92% Autosensing, 80 PLUS Platinum qualified; 1000W, 92% Autosensing, 80 PLUS Platinum qualified |
| Power supply efficiency wording | 92% Autosensing, 80 PLUS Platinum qualified |
| Power supply sizing per graphics configuration | not published (the spec sheet does not state a required PSU wattage per GPU configuration) |
| Cooling | not published |
| Onboard network | Gigabit Ethernet, Intel® Ethernet Connection I219-LM, 1x RJ-45, supports Wake-on-LAN |
| Wireless | Intel® Wi-Fi® 6E AX211, 802.11ax 2x2 Wi-Fi® + Bluetooth® 5.3, Intel® vPro® technology support; or None |
| ISV certifications | not published as a list - the spec sheet states only: "Please visit ISV certifications for Lenovo® Workstations" |
| Base warranty options published | 1-year limited onsite service, 2-year limited onsite service, 3-year limited onsite service |
| Premier Support in the base-warranty list | not published (no Premier Support term appears in the base-warranty list of the PSREF spec sheet) |
| Published constraints | Graphics: supports up to two NVIDIA RTX 5000 Ada Generation or two NVIDIA RTX A6000; Memory: some configurations will run at 4400 MT/s due to the memory support capability of processor; Feature with ** means that only one option listed under the feature can be configured on selected models; Blackwell GPUs are already supported, and the exact orderability timeframe is under confirmation; For certain post-manufacturing storage upgrades, additional upgrade kits may be required |
Compatibility & Fit
Why this page carries two specification tables
Lenovo's PSREF specification book is published per machine type, not per part number. It lists the panel, camera, wireless card, memory speed, operating-system edition and warranty term as options that the machine type can be built with — it never says which of them this particular part number actually shipped with. The distributor build sheet does state those per-SKU fields. So this page keeps the two apart: the build-sheet table describes the unit we sell, and the PSREF table describes the chassis and platform it is built on. Anything neither source states is marked "not stated" rather than estimated.
Warranty on this configuration
Lenovo's published base warranty options for this machine type are: 1-year limited onsite service, 2-year limited onsite service, 3-year limited onsite service. The distributor build sheet for this part number documents 3 Year Premier Support, which is a configured Lenovo service level rather than the bare base term — that is the cover quoted in the heading above. Lenovo's PSREF book for this machine type does not list Premier Support among its base warranty terms, so treat it as the configured service level recorded by the distributor and ask us to confirm it on the quotation.
Ada versus Ampere, and why the card name matters
Lenovo lists RTX 2000 Ada Generation and RTX A2000 as two separate products in the same book — the Ada card is 16 GB at 70 W dual slot, the Ampere A2000 is 12 GB at 70 W dual slot. The store title reads only "RTX2000", which is ambiguous between them. The distributor build sheet is explicit that this machine carries the RTX 2000 Ada Generation 16 GB, and that is what is published here.
Networking
A single Intel I219-LM gigabit port onboard, with Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 and vPro support as the wireless option. Ten-gigabit networking is an add-in card on the P5 and consumes a slot; the P8 has it onboard as standard.
Operating system
The build sheet states Windows 11 Pro for Workstations, English. Lenovo's published Linux support for this machine type is narrower than for the P8 — Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 is the certified distribution named in the book.
Package Contents & ThinkStation Ordering Information
In the box, per the distributor build sheet and Lenovo PSREF:
- Lenovo ThinkStation P5 tower workstation, built to the configuration above
- USB keyboard and mouse (stated on the distributor build sheet)
- Power cord and Lenovo documentation
Lenovo does not publish a box-contents list per part number, and the PSREF book carries no power-cord or optical-drive entry. Rack rails, additional graphics cards and storage adapters are separate line items — ask us to quote them with the machine.
Lenovo ThinkStation Workstation Ordering Information
| 30GA009SSG | Lenovo ThinkStation P5, Xeon w3-2423 6C, 32 GB, NVIDIA RTX A1000 8 GB |
| 30GA009TSG (this listing) | Lenovo ThinkStation P5, Xeon w3-2423 6C, 32 GB, RTX 2000 Ada 16 GB |
| 30HH007BSG | Lenovo ThinkStation P8, Threadripper PRO 7945WX 12C, 64 GB, NVIDIA T1000 8 GB |
| 30HH007CSG | Lenovo ThinkStation P8, Threadripper PRO 7955WX 16C, 64 GB, RTX 4000 Ada 20 GB |
Datasheet & Downloads
- Lenovo PSREF specification book — ThinkStation P5 (PDF)
- Lenovo support catalogue record for 30GA009TSG
Lenovo's PSREF specification book is the authoritative source for the chassis and platform. The support-catalogue link resolves the part number to Lenovo's own product record.
Frequently Asked Questions — Lenovo ThinkStation P5
Is this an RTX A2000 or an RTX 2000 Ada?
An RTX 2000 Ada Generation with 16 GB, per the distributor build sheet. Lenovo lists the RTX A2000 12 GB as a separate, older option. The store title reads only "RTX2000", which is ambiguous; the build-sheet card is what is published here.
How does it differ from the RTX A1000 build on this store?
Graphics only. Same Xeon w3-2423, same 32 GB DDR5-4800 RDIMM ECC, same 512 GB SSD and 2 TB disk, same warranty. This machine has a 16 GB RTX 2000 Ada in place of the 8 GB RTX A1000.
Can I fit an AMD Radeon PRO card?
No AMD Radeon PRO graphics of any kind are published for the P5. That is a ThinkStation P8 configuration.
How many graphics cards will it take?
Lenovo publishes the ceiling per card rather than as a single number, because the limit is power and slot width. Those published limits are reproduced in full in the chassis table above. Lenovo does not publish a rule for which power supply a given configuration needs, so please let us size the machine with you rather than assuming.
Is a rail kit included for rack mounting?
No. Lenovo publishes the P8 as 4U rack-mountable with an optional rail kit, which is a separate line item. The P5 has no published rack-mount option at all.
What cooling does it use?
Lenovo publishes nothing. The PSREF specification book for these machine types contains no cooling or thermal section, so we cannot tell you whether a given processor ships with air or liquid cooling, and we will not guess on a machine at this price. Ask us and we will put the question to the distributor in writing.
Which applications is it certified for?
Lenovo does not publish a list in the specification book — it points to its ISV certification portal instead. We have therefore not named any application as certified. Tell us which software you run and we will check the current entry for you.




