
Lenovo Essential Compact Wireless Mouse
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Lenovo Essential Compact Wireless Mouse (4Y50R20864) - Local Warranty
A Compact Wireless Mouse That Runs a Year on One AA Cell
The Lenovo Essential Compact Wireless Mouse connects over 2.4 GHz through a USB-A nano receiver and runs for up to 12 months on a single AA cell. At 56 x 98 x 32 mm and 50 grams it is genuinely small — a laptop-bag mouse rather than a desk one.
1000 DPI, Three Buttons, Ambidextrous
A red optical sensor at 1000 DPI with three buttons and two-way scrolling, shaped symmetrically for either hand. Note the sensor is 1000 DPI, not 1600 — the full-size wired Essential USB Mouse beside it in the ordering table is the higher-resolution one, which is the opposite of what most people assume.
Where Two Lenovo Documents Disagree, We Show You Both
Lenovo's Keyboards and Mice brochure describes this mouse as red optical at 1000 DPI with two-way scrolling. A separate Lenovo partner flyer describes the same part number as a laser mouse at 1600 DPI with a four-way scroll wheel. Those cannot both be right. We publish the brochure's figures because they match Lenovo's own product name, and we are flagging the conflict rather than quietly picking one.
Check Your Laptop Has a USB-A Port
This mouse has no Bluetooth — it is USB-A dongle or nothing. On a modern laptop with only USB-C ports you will need an adapter or a dock. Worth thirty seconds of checking before you order a box of them.
Lenovo Essential Compact Wireless Mouse Datasheet — Technical Specifications
General
| Product | Lenovo Essential Compact Wireless Mouse |
| Part Number | 4Y50R20864 |
| Type | Compact 2.4 GHz wireless optical mouse |
| Manufacturer Warranty | 1 year |
| Local Warranty (Singapore) | Included with every SourceIT purchase, with GST invoice |
Connection
| Type | 2.4 GHz wireless via a USB-A nano receiver, included |
| Bluetooth | None. This mouse connects only through its USB-A dongle |
| Range | Not published by Lenovo for this model |
Sensor & Buttons
| Sensor | Red optical |
| Resolution | 1000 DPI |
| Adjustable DPI | Not published by Lenovo for this model |
| Buttons | 3 |
| Scrolling | Two-way, up and down |
| Handedness | Ambidextrous, compact size |
| Conflicting Lenovo Document | A Lenovo partner flyer describes this part number as a laser sensor at 1600 DPI with four-way scrolling. Lenovo's Keyboards and Mice brochure and Lenovo's own product name say red optical, 1000 DPI, two-way. We publish the brochure's figures and show you the conflict |
Battery
| Type | 1 x AA cell |
| Battery Life | Up to 12 months |
| Battery Included | Lenovo does not state it explicitly. However, Lenovo sells a separate "without battery" version of this mouse as part number 4Y50R20865, which strongly implies this part number ships with one. Ask us and we will confirm before shipping |
Physical
| Dimensions | 56 x 98 x 32 mm (2.2 x 3.86 x 1.26 in) |
| Weight | 50 g (0.11 lb) |
| Colour | Not published by Lenovo for this model |
Support & Certifications
| Operating System Support | Lenovo publishes Windows 7, 8, 8.1 and 10. No Windows 11 or macOS statement is published for this model |
| Certifications | Not published by Lenovo for this model |
| Recycled Content | Not published by Lenovo for this model |
| Box Contents | Not published by Lenovo for this model |
Compatibility & Fit
A word about USB-A dongles and modern laptops. Lenovo's 2.4 GHz wireless input devices connect through a USB-A nano receiver. Many current laptops — including several ThinkPads — have few or no USB-A ports, so check the machine before you order. A USB-C adapter solves it, or a dock; the ThinkPad and Lenovo docks in our range all provide USB-A ports. The one device in this range that avoids the problem entirely is the Wireless Multi-Mode Pro Combo 6000, which also does Bluetooth.
Watch the part number when you order. Lenovo sells a nearly identical SKU, 4Y50R20865, which is the same mouse without a battery. The two differ by one digit. This listing is 4Y50R20864, the version that should include a cell — and if that matters to you, say so and we will confirm the carton before it ships.
Twelve months on one AA is the real selling point. For a floor of shared desks, a mouse that needs a battery once a year is a materially different support proposition from one that needs charging weekly. It also means no cable and no dock to tie the mouse to a particular desk.
Compact, and that cuts both ways. At 50 grams and 98 mm long this is a travel mouse. It fits a laptop bag and it suits a smaller hand; a user who wants a full-size mouse to rest their palm on will find it small. The wired Essential USB Mouse in the ordering table is the full-size one.
1000 DPI, and no adjustment published. That is on the low side and Lenovo claims no DPI switching. For a user who wants a faster or adjustable pointer, the Wireless Multi-Mode Pro Combo 6000 in the ordering table is the model with adjustable DPI.
Package Contents & Lenovo Accessory Ordering Information
In the box, per Lenovo PSREF:
- Lenovo publishes no box-contents list for this product
Expect the mouse and its USB-A nano receiver. Lenovo does not explicitly state whether the AA cell is included, though the existence of a separate "without battery" part number suggests it is. Ask us and we will confirm.
Lenovo Accessory Ordering Information
| 4XD1C82055 | Lenovo Go Wired Speakerphone — USB-C personal speakerphone, Microsoft Teams certified |
| 4XD1B84406 | Lenovo Wireless VoIP Speakerphone — Quad-mic 360° room speakerphone with a 6500 mAh power bank |
| 4XD1M80020 | Lenovo Wireless VoIP Headset — Bluetooth 5.3 over-ear, Teams certified, 31 h talk time |
| 4XD1Q30302 | Lenovo Wireless Stereo Headset — Bluetooth over-ear, 31 h talk time, replaceable earcups |
| 4XD1R31390 | Lenovo TWS Earbuds X9 Edition — True wireless, hybrid ANC to -40 dB, Dolby Atmos |
| 4XD0T32974 | Lenovo 700 Ultraportable Bluetooth Speaker — 11 mm Bluetooth 5.0 music speaker — withdrawn by Lenovo |
| 4Y50R20863 | Lenovo Essential USB Mouse — Wired USB-A, 1600 DPI, 3 buttons, 70 g |
| 4Y50R20864 (this listing) | Lenovo Essential Compact Wireless Mouse — 2.4 GHz USB-A dongle, 1000 DPI, 12-month battery |
| 4Y41C68642 | Lenovo Essential Wired Keyboard, Black — Full-size with numeric keypad, spill resistant, 10M clicks |
| 4X30L79883 | Lenovo Essential Wired Combo Keyboard and Mouse — Wired combo, numeric keypad, 1600 DPI mouse |
| 4X31R64400 | Lenovo Essential Wired Combo Keyboard & Mouse — Current wired combo — numeric keypad, Copilot key |
| 4X31R64453 | Lenovo Essential Wireless Combo Keyboard & Mouse Gen 2 — 2.4 GHz combo, Copilot key, 65% recycled, 3-year warranty |
| 4X30H56796 | Lenovo Professional Wireless Combo Keyboard & Mouse — 2.4 GHz, laser 1600 DPI, 24-month battery, replaceable dongle |
| 4X31S04810 | Lenovo Wireless Multi-Mode Pro Combo Keyboard & Mouse 6000 — Bluetooth 5.3 and 2.4 GHz, three devices, silent keys |
Datasheet & Downloads
- Lenovo Keyboards and Mice Brochure (PDF)
- Lenovo recommended keyboards and mice flyer (PDF) — the conflicting document
Both documents above are Lenovo's, and they disagree about this mouse — the brochure says red optical at 1000 DPI with two-way scrolling, the flyer says laser at 1600 DPI with four-way. We have linked both so you can see the conflict for yourself, and we publish the brochure's figures because they match Lenovo's own product name.
Frequently Asked Questions — Lenovo Essential Compact Wireless Mouse
Is the battery included?
Lenovo does not state it explicitly. What we can tell you is that Lenovo sells a separate "without battery" version of this mouse as 4Y50R20865, which strongly implies this part number ships with a cell. If it matters, ask us and we will confirm the carton contents before your order ships.
Is it 1000 DPI or 1600 DPI?
Lenovo's own documents disagree. The Keyboards and Mice brochure says red optical at 1000 DPI with two-way scrolling; a Lenovo partner flyer says laser at 1600 DPI with four-way scrolling. We publish 1000 DPI because it matches the brochure and Lenovo's product naming. If the resolution decides your purchase, ask us and we will get it settled with Lenovo.
Does it have Bluetooth?
No. It connects only through the supplied USB-A nano receiver. On a laptop with only USB-C ports you will need an adapter or a dock. The Wireless Multi-Mode Pro Combo 6000 in the ordering table is the model in this range that also does Bluetooth.
How long does the battery last?
Lenovo publishes up to 12 months on a single AA cell.
What warranty applies in Singapore?
Lenovo publishes a 1-year warranty for this mouse. Every unit SourceIT sells also carries local Singapore warranty support and a GST invoice.
