Rising component costs may adjust prices on selected items without prior notice. Supply constraints may add shipping time — we’ll notify you if affected. OEM costs and supply tightening — contact us to secure stock and pricing. For projects or bulk orders, choose “Request for Quotation” on any item.
Call our specialists(65) 6978 3502 Email our sales teamsales@sourceit.com.sg

PCs & Laptops

AOC vs Samsung: Is a More Expensive Monitor Really Worth It?

Sometimes, but less often than the price difference suggests. At the same resolution and refresh rate, AOC and Samsung monitors are specified very similarly, and AOC is usually cheaper. Samsung's premium buys brand design, its own features such as Smart Monitor apps and anti-glare OLED finishes, and the reassurance of the world's largest gaming-monitor brand by revenue. At SourceIT, the AOC Q27G4/D 27-inch QHD gaming monitor is S$297.50 against S$390 for Samsung's Odyssey G5 G50D 27-inch QHD 180Hz, and the AOC Q27G4SD 360Hz QD-OLED is S$996.25 against S$1,255 for Samsung's Odyssey OLED G6 G60SD (listed 30 Oct 2026; Samsung models are subject to availability, so ask us). Whether the extra is worth it comes down to specific features, not general quality.

How do matching models compare?

Category AOC Samsung Price gap at SourceIT
27" QHD gaming, 180Hz class Q27G4/D: S$297.50 Odyssey G5 G50D: S$390 S$92.50
27" QHD QD-OLED, 360Hz Q27G4SD (26.5"): S$996.25 Odyssey OLED G6 G60SD: S$1,255 S$258.75
27" QHD office Q27P4C (USB-C 96W, KVM, 120Hz): S$297.50 ViewFinity S6 S60UD: S$440 S$142.50

SourceIT prices listed 30 Oct 2026. Samsung listings currently show no stock; ask us about availability.

Close up: the 27-inch QHD gaming pair

Specification AOC Q27G4 Samsung Odyssey G5 G50D 27"
Panel IPS, 2560x1440 IPS, 2560x1440
Refresh and response Up to 180Hz (DisplayPort), 1ms GtG 180Hz, 1ms GtG
Variable refresh Adaptive Sync FreeSync and G-Sync Compatible
HDR DisplayHDR 400 DisplayHDR 400
Stand Height 130 mm, tilt, swivel, pivot Height 120 mm, tilt, swivel, pivot
Inputs 2x HDMI 2.0, DisplayPort 1.4 HDMI 2.0, DisplayPort 1.2
Warranty in Singapore 3 years parts and labour Not stated on Samsung's product page

From AOC's and Samsung's Singapore product pages, checked 30 Oct 2026. Manufacturer claims; we have not tested either monitor.

On paper these two are almost interchangeable. The AOC adds a second HDMI port and a slightly taller stand; the Samsung has a newer brand look and Samsung's own Odyssey styling.

What does the Samsung premium actually buy?

  • Brand-specific features. Samsung's Smart Monitor range runs TV apps without a PC, and its OLED models use Samsung's own anti-glare finish and burn-in protection features.
  • Panel origin at the top end. QD-OLED panels are made by Samsung Display and appear in many brands' OLED monitors. At that tier, the panel class is often similar and you pay for the rest of the product.
  • Market position. IDC data reported in April 2025 put Samsung first in global gaming-monitor revenue for 2024, with 21.0%. AOC claims to be first by its own IDC-based measure. Both can be true if one counts revenue and the other units.
  • Review coverage. Popular Samsung models are widely reviewed, which helps buyers check claims before purchase.
When two monitors share a panel class, the logo mostly changes the stand, the software, the styling and the price. Decide which of those you actually use.

What about after-sales support?

AOC Singapore states a three-year parts and labour warranty, with service through MPGS Singapore at Ang Mo Kio. Samsung's Singapore product page we checked did not state the monitor warranty term, so confirm it before you buy. For companies, the questions that matter are the same for both brands: how faulty units are collected or exchanged, how long repairs take, and whether a pixel-defect policy applies. Ask us for current terms when quoting.

Which should you buy?

  • AOC when you want the same panel class and features for less, with a clearly stated three-year local warranty.
  • Samsung when a specific feature matters: Smart Monitor apps, a particular OLED finish, or matching other Samsung displays in the office.
  • Either for general gaming at 1440p; put the savings towards your graphics card. See 1080p vs 1440p Gaming.

For OLED specifically, read AOC Gaming Monitor vs MSI QD-OLED: Is OLED Really Worth the Upgrade? and our general look at what you give up with cheaper AOC monitors.

Buying in Singapore

SourceIT supplies AOC and Samsung monitors with local warranty and a GST invoice, including the AOC Q27G4/D (S$297.50), AOC Q27G4SD (S$996.25), Samsung Odyssey G5 G50D (S$390) and Samsung Odyssey OLED G6 G60SD (S$1,255). Prices listed 30 Oct 2026; ask us about availability of Samsung models and confirm each variant's specification. Browse AOC Gaming Monitors and Samsung Monitors. For a quotation, use Request for Quotation on the product page, call (65) 6978 3502, email Sales@sourceit.com.sg or use our contact page.

Frequently asked questions

Is Samsung better than AOC for monitors? Not automatically. At the same resolution and refresh rate, specifications are very similar; Samsung adds brand features and styling, AOC usually costs less.

How do the AOC Q27G4 and Samsung Odyssey G5 G50D compare? Both are 27-inch 1440p IPS 180Hz monitors with DisplayHDR 400 and fully adjustable stands. At SourceIT on 30 Oct 2026, the AOC Q27G4/D is S$297.50 and the Samsung G50D S$390.

Do AOC and Samsung OLED monitors use the same panels? QD-OLED panels are made by Samsung Display and used by several monitor brands. Check each model's specification for the panel generation.

Which brand has better after-sales support in Singapore? AOC states a three-year parts and labour warranty through its local service centre. Confirm Samsung's monitor warranty term for the specific model before buying.

Which is the biggest gaming monitor brand? It depends on the measure. IDC data put Samsung first by revenue in 2024, while AOC says IDC ranks AGON first, likely by units.

Share This Article
Facebook

More from our blog


← Older Post Newer Post →